Authors for Japan – can you help?

I can’t comprehend the scale of the devastation in Japan and I can’t stop thinking about it. I woke up in the night and lay there, thinking about how lucky I am and how I wanted to do something to help. At first, I was going to just put a button on this blog and ask people to contribute towards a Shelterbox, but then I remembered the wonderful Authors for Queensland auction and decided to try that instead.

If you’re an author or a publishing professional willing to contribute something to be auctioned in aid of Japan, I’d love to hear from you. I’m thinking proofs/ARC, books, naming a character, swag, chapter/query letter/synopsis critiques, even writer mentoring.

And if you’re a reader, let me know the kind of thing you’d like to see in the auction and I’ll try to get it. There’ll be a dedicated website up by Monday.

Thank you. (Oh and I’ve never done anything like this before so any help/advice would be wonderful too!)

UPDATED: Blimey, you’re all so lovely! Thanks for all the offers so far. If you could make sure you leave your email with your comment, I’ll get in touch in the next couple of days (I currently have a 2-year-old yelling “MAAAMA!” from his bed… why isn’t he asleep?!) Or if you prefer, you could email me at keris.stainton@googlemail.com Thank you!

UPDATED 14 MARCH: I’ve closed the comments on this post now since I’m about to put the site live. You can still contact me via email keris.stainton@googlemail.com but please see comment above re what I need from you. Thank you so much.

[Photo source]

112 thoughts on “Authors for Japan – can you help?

  1. Yes, wonderful idea, I’m up for it. Whatever I can do.

  2. Fab idea, Keris. I’m happy to pledge a pen2publication crit of a first chapter plus covering letter plus signed copy of Write to be Published with crabbit bag.

  3. I’m in – can offer chapter/query letter/synopsis critiques.

  4. I’ve got lots of backlist copies lying about, so I could offer some signed books.

  5. Would a copy of Without Alice or are you looking for something smaller?

  6. I would love to see more mentorships offered by authors. In the QLD Auction, one went for over a thousand dollars I’m pretty sure. Critiques of chapters are fantastic too! Good luck!
    Bron.

  7. I’m up for whatever I can do – can give signed books, and would be happy to name a character if that would be of any interest.

    Thanks for the initiative.

  8. Would love to help, Keris. Not sure what you’d prefer – can do signed copies or if you’d like will offer to do an event (reading group or school) but that would have to be in or close to me in Edinburgh. Well done! Sara x

  9. Can I donate a signed hardback first edition of my first novel ‘The Twilight Time’? Just let me know where to send it. Cheers.

  10. This is a brilliant idea, Keris. I’ll donate a whole signed set of GREEK BEASTS AND HEROES. Is that ok?

  11. Excellent idea – would offer time/mentoring for anyone interested in such a thing

  12. I am sure I can donate some ARCs Keren. I also have lots of swag goodies for BBC. Do I need to send you an email or something?

  13. I will gladly send in signed copies of my works, and let me see if my illustrator could do an original piece for you.

  14. I could critique first chapter or short story …

  15. This is a marvelous idea . . . I’m happy to contribute graphic services (book cover or trailer) to this most worthwhile cause.

  16. This is such a fabulous idea. I spent last summer in Japan and loved every minute of it. Such a wonderful country and such welcoming people. They don’t deserve this – no-one does. I feel so helpless and want to do something to help. Thanks for coming up with this idea.

    • You’re very welcome. I’ve never been to Japan, but have always wanted to. Can’t imagine what people are going through.

  17. I’ll offer a chapter critique and a character name.

  18. Hi Keris

    Well done on doing something positive. Happy to offer signed harback copies of I Did a Bad Thing, 10 Reasons Not to Fall in Love and Things I Wish I’d Known. X

  19. Am in – first chapter critique, cover letter and synopsis advice and I can donate a couple of signed books. Let me know what you need x

  20. Authors for Japan – can you help? « Keris Stainton…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  21. I’ll offer a signed copy of my first book and a character name (said character to die horribly in my upcoming urban fantasy trilogy).

  22. What a brilliant idea – count me in – I have a copy of ‘His Last Duchess’ you could auction. I’ve never done anything like this either, so don’t know how to offer any help. Where would you like me to send the book? Would be happy too to offer a first chapter critique, too.

  23. I can offer a subscription to The Yellow Room Magazine (a literary journal for women writers).

  24. Great idea – I’d like to offer chapter critique or mentoring.

  25. I’ve got nothing of worth to offer but I will certainly bid! Sooo many tempting offers.

  26. I really like Zoe’s idea and I would also be happy to name a character after the highest bidder for this in my novel in progress: http://djkirkby.co.uk/fiction-in-progress/

    • Although I ain’t published yet, for the right bid I’ll change the name of my MC in my firstborn novel..

      Brilliant idea, by the way, Keris, hat’s off to you!

  27. I can offer books.
    Thank you!

  28. Brilliant idea, Keris: hard not to feel overwhelmed into inaction by the scale of the devastation.

    I can offer 6 months of online mentoring for a children’s or YA writer. (And if anyone wants a character name in a book out in 2012, I can offer that separately too!)

    susie AT susieday.com

  29. I’d love to be a part of this, and could offer a signed hardcover edition of KAT, INCORRIGIBLE (the US edition of my A MOST IMPROPER MAGICK) for the auction.

  30. Hi Keris,

    I woke in the night too and couldn’t stop thinking about all those lives lost or ruined. I don’t know how much use I can be because I’m a very new author – (my first book Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes isn”t out until July) I would be happy to do anything. I’m currently writing my second novel which has been accepted by my publisher so if any interest I could name a character?

  31. I was thinking, “Wow, I wish I was an author so I could give something,” but then I realised I have a spare copy of the book I contributed to, Filled With Glee, and of course I’m happy to offer it, alongside a critique of a pop culture essay, article pitch, or other piece of non-fiction writing up to 3k words.

  32. Happy to offer two lifetime (or as long as the network exists) free memberships to the online writing workshop http://www.divingdeeper.net. Only caveat is that the members must agree to the guidelines.

  33. Trish Phillips

    Fantastic to be able to do something – I can offer a signed pop-up book along with a dummy page and sketches.

  34. Donation of copies of my short story collection, Back Burning, published in Queensland – could see if the publisher can participate in some way; critique of short story; could elaborate on my paper “Warming up before sitting down: from online to inter-face writing support”.

  35. I can donate a copy of the anthology Diamonds and Pearls. I’ve also publicised this on my blog. What a lovely idea.

  36. Thanks so much for all these amazing comments. Will email you all any… minute… now… :)

  37. Jennifer Connaughton

    This is a fab idea well done! I wud jump at the chance to be mentored by an author or given a workshop or something like that! Even to be a character in a book they are all amazing ideas! Please let me know when the auction will take place
    JenniferX

  38. Signed copy of my latest novel and/or critique of opening chapters and synopsis of novel and/or critique of a short story .

  39. I’m in. Sent you a message. Just released my book on kindle and planned to to the same :-)

  40. I saw this on Facebook and it’s such a wonderful idea – I can offer three critiques of 2,000 word opening chapters of middle grade to teen novels. And two paperbacks of Tall Story – I will draw a cartoon on the title pages and sign them.

  41. I’d happily offer a free copy of ‘New Beginnings’ but they’d have to wait a while… but if that would be any use I’d make sure they get one of the first copies of it.

  42. I’ll donate two signed copies of my teen novel: “The Killer’s Daughter”

  43. That’s brillaint Keris – thank you for organising something when the rest of us are all just sitting there watching the TV with our mouths open in horror. Happy to donate a signed first edition of Small Blue Thing and to name a character in the final one of the trilogy (will have to be a passing one though as the others have been already published).

  44. Caroline Green

    Am up for anything I can do too. My books isn’t out til May…could I offer signed copy or something?

  45. Hi Keris,
    Said this in an email too but happy to offer:

    1. Opening chapter critique up to 2000 words (women’s fiction or YA)
    2. Character name in a novel.

    Well done for doing this,
    Kate x

    http://chicklitworkinprogress.blogspot.com/

  46. This is a great idea. I’ll be along to bid on things when you get started. I also put a link to this on my blog (I’ll change it to the website once it’s up), so I hope you get some extra bids.

  47. Very happy to offer signed books and the naming of a character in my next book.

    Thanks for doing this.

    Julie

  48. Your name as a police officer in my new urban fantasy novel, out next year.

  49. I’d like to offer a signed copy of Angel’s Fury. It won’t be out until July 4th, but if bidders are willing to wait I’m happy to contribute.

  50. I can donate a signed hardback copy of Getting Away With It and critique of a submission package (letter, synopsis, three chapters).

  51. I am happy to donate a signed copy of my picture book, “Monster Baby”. It’s nice of you to do so thank you for organizing it all.

  52. I’d be very happy to contribute by offering a critique of a chapter or up to 2,000 words. Thanks for organising this, it’s wonderful to see!

  53. Thanks so much for giving a way for people to contribute. I’ll offer a manuscript critique – picture book or MG/YA fiction – up to 3,000 words plus cover letter.

  54. I’d love to help – would a signed copy of each of my YA novels (Mishaps and Dangerously Placed) be OK?

  55. Hi, I’d be happy to donate one signed copy of ‘My Dad Thinks He’s Funny’ as well as written feedback on a picture book manuscript up to 700 word long.

  56. Hi Keris,
    I’d like to offer some non-fiction/freelance journalism mentoring. Usually I charge £250+ for four one-hour phone sessions with exercises set and feedback given in bewteen. Or places on workshops held in Birmingham and London are usually £129+. I know that these aren’t going to be as attractive as some of the wonderful and precious stuff offered by high profile authors of fiction but I am currently reworking my freelance tips book and have a deadline of August so of course a copy of that can also be included when it comes out. I hope this is helpful, to be honest I would expect people to possibly bid lower than the usual cost of these mentoring/workshop sessions but thank you for helping me see how I can do something to help.

  57. Sorry me again. Oh sod it, I’ll email.

  58. No services to offer to the auction except my strongest bidding support for the generosity of others and the opportunity to support our neighbours in need!

  59. I’ve sent you an email – you have the support of past editors from 100 Stories for Queensland and 50 Stories for Pakistan.

  60. I would like to make a donation too.

    I can donate 3 x 1st chapter fededback up to 3000 words (any genre) and a signed copy of my book when it’s out later this spring (My book is literary / experimental fiction).

    Best regards,
    Berit Ellingsen

  61. I would be pleased to give you a signed copy of each of my children’s picture books (4) to auction to help the people devastated by the earthquake in Japan. Let’s hope that this will bring to an end the grim disaster ridden start to 2011!

  62. Hi Keris, I can offer a personalised childrens illustration – with any name embedded into the illustration,and on any theme chosen by winning bidder (eg – dinosaurs/ fav. TV characters etc) – I know it is slightly off tangent but I figured that writers and aspiring writers have children and bedroom walls too and may fancy a piece of bespoke artwork : ) I will e mail you some examples of my work. Hope this helps in some way : )

  63. Coffee in Soho and chat about your writing dreams with kickass Penguin author, ex-literary agent and university writing tutor. (that’s me btw)

  64. I will donate a signed copy of my book, Epilepsy: The Essential Guide.

    What a great idea, thanks Keris.

  65. Carole Benton

    Whatever you need, Keris. I am not famous enough to have anything existing to offer, but I should be honoured to help out.

  66. What a great idea! Many people want to help out, but other than money or being an aid worker, there is another way to help by sending words of support and hope. You can send your message online to school children and emergency workers in Japan via Hope Letters at http://hopeletters.wordpress.com/. Hope Letters will translate them into Japanese and deliver them to local organizations for posting/broadcasting (when it is practical and effective to do so). Help give hope!

  67. […] week, let’s start off with this good cause: Authors for Japan. Please read it, and please think seriously about donating something if you qualify. If you feel you […]

  68. Hi, I can donate a signed copy of each of my three published books. Let me know where to send them.

    Penny

  69. Do you want an original MS or published books? I have plenty of paperbacks and would send a parcel to wherever. Please email me privately and say what you would like. Anne Herries/Linda Sole. I could write a short just for your auction if it comes off.

    Anne Herries/Linda Sole

  70. Brilliant idea, Keris – thanks for doing this. I’ve donated to Shelterbox (wonderful charity) but I was hoping to do more. I wish I had something to offer but I will definitely be bidding! x

  71. Nothing to offer professionally (if only I had…) but would love to bid on some of these great offers when the auction happens. Great idea.
    Vicky

  72. Great idea! I would definitely bid on a criique or mentorship package. Especially for picture books or early readers.

  73. Happy to donate whatever you think will help

  74. I love this idea. My books are incredibly niche non-fiction titles, so I don’t think they’d be much use as donations. I’d love to help in some way though. I’ll try to think up something!

  75. Hi Keris, fantastic idea – well done for organising. I’m not an author myself (copywriter/journo) but have passed this link on to author friend and asked her to help spread the word & contribute if possible.
    best wishes Stella

  76. Glad of a chance to do something. Can offer a signed FLIPS for Nintendo DS Cathy Cassidy disc – that’s six of my children’s books for nintendo hand-held, plus quizzes, games, extras. Good luck Keris, so, so upset by all of this.
    xxx

  77. Hi,
    Thanks for this, what a great idea!
    I’d love to offer signed copies of my first two books for age 9+ Shine and Glitter and a character name in book 4, out prob 2012,

    Good Luck, I hope you raise loads,
    Love Kate xxx

  78. Don’t know how much demand there will be for my book (even I’ve never heard of me!). But it might be more special because what I send won’t just be A copy – it’ll be the very first one! It only went on pre-order last night.

  79. This is a brilliant idea. I know someone (author) who expressed her support. Good luck!

  80. I’ll be happy to donate books and/or ARCS – I’ll also pass this on to my publishers!

    kmtrain at hotmail dot com

    What a wonderful thing you are doing!

  81. What a gret idea Keris. Not sure what I can do to help really – you are welcome to a couple of my books and I’d be happy to do a chapter/pitch critique but not sure if that’s relevant as I haven’t published any fiction? Do let me know if I can do anything though.

  82. Great idea! I used to live in Japan and still have friends there (mercifully unharmed) so if there’s anything at all I can do, please contact me on rin_simpson(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

  83. Jo, a tokyo based UK expat who blogs at A bit of this and a bit of that is coordinating a series of auctions and raffles:

    http://jojoebi.blogspot.com/2011/03/japan-quake-auction-appeal.html

    Money raised will go to Global Giving to distribute.

    I have just launched an auction for some hand made jewellery on my blog as part of her efforts:

    http://www.playingbythebook.net/2011/03/13/auction-to-raise-funds-for-victims-of-japan-earthquake-and-tsunami/

  84. Would be happy to donate a handwritten book of poetry – let me know where/when to send it.

  85. Keris! You ARE amazing! What a terrific idea!

    I have tweeted your blog link and posted the link/info on my Fan Page.

    I’m the author of 3 books, plus many of my clients are authors whom I provide branding, marketing and PR services for. So I will plan to donate copies of my books, as well as a consulting package you can auction, AND I’ll enourage my author-clients to also donate their books and/or e-products.

    I’ve also sent your blog link to my Publisher this morning and asked her to promote it, and notify their other authors.

    I hope, in my own small way, this helps your overall BIG effort!

    xo
    Lisa

  86. Hi Keris, Just saw this on FB, great idea. I can offer an original signed drawing/character illustration (by me) of my main characters, Charlie and Tobias, from Castle of Shadows and City of Thieves. (I trained as a painter & always draw my characters as part of the writing process.)

  87. I’m sure I’ve got a few books (HA) I could donate. How do we do this, send them all to you?

  88. I would be happy to donate two copies of The Virgin Diaries (authored by my mother and I) as well as two copies of The People Next Door (written my partner and mother Ann Werner).
    Kimberley A. Johnson

  89. My partner in life and business is an established book cover illustrator. You can find his work all over our website http://www.panicpress.org Panic Press Publishing can offer a free book cover illustration if that helps?

    email me at horrorhouse.editor@yahoo.com

  90. Lovely idea! I’ll happily donate some copies of my non-fiction books.

  91. I’m a tween author and write for teen magazines – would happily offer a mentorship via cup o’ hot chocolate, hang time and reading of work – Keris, you’re gorgeous for doing this!

  92. Hi Keris –

    Bravo for you for taking action to help the people impacted by this tragedy! I’ve been flying to Japan just about every month for the past 5 years, working with ALC Education’s Global Management Consulting Group to help global companies succeed in their global leadership, creativity, innovation, team effectiveness, and execution excellence. The people of Japan are incredibly hard working, kind, and playful! I love my work there.

    I’ll donate 10 Scrappy Project Management books and 5 of each of the other Scrappy Guides:
    – Scrappy General Management
    – Scrappy Business Contingency Planning
    – Scrappy Information Security
    – Scrappy Women in Business

    Each book sells for about $18 – 20 on Amazon.com

    Just tell me where to ship the books (directly to the winners?) and I’ll take care of it, anywhere in the world.

    In addition I’ll donate an hour of Scrappy Phone Coaching (sticker price $450). Just hook me up with the person who gets that.

    Let me know what else I can do. And please know that I deeply appreciate your personal commitment to making a positive difference.

    – Kimberly Wiefling, Author, Scrappy Project Management, and Executive Editor of The Scrappy Guides Series

  93. I’m happy to donate a book trailer, (this kind of thing http://booktrailers.withrebecca.com ) if that would be helpful.

  94. This is a wonderful idea. I don’t have any books published yet but would be happy to donate hand written poetry booklet or art work (or anything else you may thingk of).

    teaforthetiller [at] hotmail [dot] com

  95. Hey Keris

    Late to the party, as ever, but would really like to help. Two separate bids: Character name in my next YA and character name in my next adult book (but auction would have to be in next two months for that last one to work!)

  96. Terrific idea! I will donate a copy of Troubled Times & ‘Til Death Do Us Part. Also my editorial service will donate a line-by-line editing up to 5K.

  97. Hey lovely. I was just thinking that as I don’t have a book to offer, how about I offer three months blog/product/book advertising on Novelicious (will also design and create the ad). Hope this would be suitable. xxx

  98. Again, thank you for the AMAZING comments. I’m emailing you all. You’re all wonderful. x

  99. Hey Keris,
    This is a great idea, am happy to contribute a signed copy of my novel The State of Me.
    warm wishes
    NASIM

  100. Love it. I’m happy to donate signed books and/or name a character after the winning bidder. Could do two auctions if you want. xo

  101. I can offer a signed copy of my debut chick lit novel Class Act.
    And how about a social media review/proposal for an author?. I’ve given social media workshops for authors at RWA, London Screenwriters Festival & various publishing expos. How about a personal review followed by a personal mentoring session?

  102. Well done, not just for thinking of this, but organising it all too. I will donate signed copies of my first books – Plotting for Beginners and Zuzu’s Petals – and one of the new one – But I Told You Last Year That i Loved You – when it comes out in June.

  103. […] Japan I spotted this lovely idea from Keris Stainton via Laura’s facebook page. Keris is setting up an auction with some […]

  104. I’d be delighted to offer a signed hardback copy of my non fiction book, The Self Sufficiency Bible (published by Watkins), if that might help?

  105. angela readman

    this is a great idea. i can offer a couple of signed copies of my book, and a graffitied doodled on/authors notes version, but since its poetry and i’m not famous i can’t see anyone bidding on it! so it may not be helpful. That being said, I was very moved by japan and want to help. if there’s anything i can do to help let me know.

    maybe people can help by contacting some of the presses/ named writers whose contributions may help raise money and just making them aware of this? (I can think of a couple of authors whose manuscripts or notes etc I’d love to bid on, likewise mentoring or feedback from.) So lets hope they’ll contribute.

  106. I also think this is a great idea. I’m a creative writer, I don’t know if I can help, but I’d love to do whatever I can.

  107. […] Authors For Japan‘  – Blogger Keris Stainton is organising a fundraising project via her blog (Please click the link for further info) […]

Comments are closed.