52 Books: Pea’s Book of Best Friends by Susie Day

I was saving this book for closer to the publication date (5 July), but the most recent book I read isn’t published until 19 July and though I’m pretty sure I read another book in between, I can’t for the life of me remember what it was (I’ve had a busy week…) so Pea it is!

I absolutely adored this book. I’m friends with Susie Day and I love her writing anyway, but from the first time I heard about Pea’s Book of Best Friends I knew I’d love it.

When Pea Llewellyn’s dizzy but dazzling single mum becomes Marina Cove, author of the bestselling Mermaid Girls books, everything changes. It’s time to leave their tiny flat in Tenby for a proper house in London, and a whole new life. 

Pea likes the red front door, and the attic bedroom all to herself. She even likes her hideous new school uniform, in a masochistic Malory Towers sort of way. But there’s an empty chair beside her in every lesson, and no one seems to want to fill it. In the absence of volunteers, Pea is going to have to acquire herself a best friend . . .

It’s just utterly gorgeous. The characters are funny, sweet and charming and it frequently made me laugh out loud and do excited little bounces. A must-read for children from about age 8, I’d say. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.

It’s already been compared to Hilary McKay and Noel Streatfeild (as well as The Penderwicks – in this lovely review by Stephanie Burgis – which I haven’t read, but really must).

2 thoughts on “52 Books: Pea’s Book of Best Friends by Susie Day

  1. Pingback: Pea’s Book of Big Dreams by Susie Day « Keris Stainton

Comments are closed.