52 Books: I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron

I pretty much spent the past week reading numerous blog posts about Nora Ephron and re-reading I Feel Bad About My Neck.

I loved it when I read it on publication and I think I may have loved it even more this time.

It made me cry, of course, and it made me think about how I put things off – and how I really must stop doing that. She mentions a Dr Hauschka lemon bath oil that I’ve been meaning to buy since I first read this book… four years ago. (I’ve had it in my basket online lots of times, but I always chicken out – it’s expensive for a bath oil.) In an essay called The Lost Strudel or Le Strudel Perdu, she writes about an amazing cabbage strudel that I vowed to try when I went to New York for my 40th birthday last year. No, you didn’t miss it – I didn’t go to New York for my 40th birthday last year. Nor for my 41st this year.

I originally blogged Nora’s quote about not putting things off just over a year ago, but I’m only really starting to get it now. At least, I hope I am.

(I know this is all me me me, but that aside, it really is a brilliant essay collection – funny, sad, smart and true true true.)

Not a book, but I also read Nora’s Wellesley College Commencement speech and it just blew me away. If you haven’t read it, you really must.

2 thoughts on “52 Books: I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron

  1. Great speech, thanks for the link. I’m going to download something by Nora to my kindle for my hols next week.

Comments are closed.