52 Books: A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean

I read a few rave reviews of this book, so when I saw it on Netgalley, I snapped it up. I started reading it after my uncle’s funeral – I knew it was a tearjerker and I was sort of in the mood for that, but I also knew it was for younger readers and thought maybe it wouldn’t be too upsetting. Silly me.

It’s the story of a girl who’s lost her mother and whose father isn’t dealing with bereavement particularly well. She meets a boy, dealing with his own challenges. And then there’s the dog that seems to be following her around. I don’t want to say too much about the plot because I think this is a book better read without much background knowledge, but it’s really lovely. Sad and sweet and about grief and friendship and joy.

But.

It left me a snorting, sobbing mess. On the train. It wasn’t the book so much – I mean, I’m pretty sure it would’ve made me cry, but not like that – but after a funeral with family, missing my parents and already sad about how much things change and what we can lose… well, it wasn’t pretty. That doesn’t mean I’m not glad I read it or even that I wish I hadn’t read it when I did. I think it did me a power of good, to be honest.

2 thoughts on “52 Books: A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean

  1. […] that I finished reading it on the train and had to stifle my sobs. (I always seem to end up reading books that make me cry on the […]

  2. […] I do always seem to find myself crying over books on trains. I have no idea why this is. I don’t even use trains all that often.) Share […]

Comments are closed.