52 Books: Some Assembly Required by Anne Lamott

I love Anne Lamott’s writing and I particularly loved her book Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year, so I was really excited to read this one, subtitled A Journal of My Son’s First Son (I love that).

I’m afraid I was a bit disappointed. Lamott writes beautifully about her grandson, Jax, and also about Sam. And Sam sounds wonderful – mature, articulate, sensitive, sweet. But I thought Lamott came across as pretty unlikeable in some parts. Yes, she knows she’s being obnoxious a lot of the time, she’s open and honest about it, but other parts to me seemed rather passive aggressive: she talks a lot about giving money to Sam and Amy, paying their bills, buying their stuff, setting them up. She also mentions Amy’s weight a few times, which got right up my nose.

I’m glad I read it – some of it is really lovely and I’m sure will stay with me like so much of Lamott’s writing – but it’s not one of my favourites.

(If you’re a writer, you MUST read Lamott’s Bird by Bird. Glorious book.)

Thank you, Stephanie, for sending me your copy.

