My year in books

This year has been an excellent one for books, but not so much for me and reading. Mainly because of the iPad. When my Kindle packed up, I decided rather than replacing the Kindle, I’d spend the refund money on books. Because we have a Kindle app on the iPad, so I figured I didn’t really need a Kindle (but of course I always need more books).

But whenever I pick up the iPad to read a book, this happens: Check email. Check Twitter. Check Facebook. Check Google Reader. Check Instapaper. Kindle app is next, but it’s been at least 30 seconds since I last checked email and Twitter, so I check them again. And again. And again. Depending on how much I’m enjoying the book I’m reading, this stage can last from between 10 minutes to ALL FRIGGING DAY. (Actually, sometimes even if I’m really enjoying the book I’m reading and am gagging to get back to it, I can still spend a ridiculously long time in social media limbo, cursing myself all the time. What is wrong with me?!) Sometimes, even when I finally click on the Kindle app, I tell myself I need to read some of the samples (to get them out of the way) before getting back to my book and then, of course, once I’ve read a sample, I have to go and check email, and Twitter, and… *smacks self hard in face with iPad*

(At least I’m not alone – this piece by Kevin Barry, found via Ben Johncock, was very familiar. Although I only self-Google once a month, honest.)

Anyway. Despite the above madness, I managed to read the 52 Books I “reviewed” on here and a bunch of others I haven’t mentioned (cos I forgot… or couldn’t be arsed). So in no particular order…

My favourite adult books (no, not 50 Shades of Grey…):

imagesimages-4 images-3 images-2 images-1

My favourite young adult (and slightly younger) books:

images-9 images-8 images-7 images-6 images-5

My favourite non-fiction books:

images-15 images-14 images-13 images-12 images-11

Some authors have two books on my faves list, so I’ve bundled them together:

images-21images-26 images-24images-18images-20images-27
images-22images-25images-23images-19 images-17 images-16

If I had to pick one absolute favourite book of the year, I think it would be Attachments – I didn’t want it to end and I’m still actually a bit annoyed that it did – but it’s so hard to choose!

Finally, one of the best things I read all year was a WIP by Louise Jones. I think it was only 10,000 words or so, but I absolutely loved it and have been nagging Louise for more ever since. Sadly, she’s been too busy carrying the Olympic torch, heading off to university, appearing in documentaries, and having talks with agents. She’s going to take the world by storm (actually, she already is) and I can’t wait to go into a book shop and buy her book.

6 thoughts on “My year in books

  1. Wow. I only managed 12 books this year and was pleased with that (as an improvement on last year’s pitiful 5!) until I read your post. Can totally relate to your web addiction whilst reading on your iPad.

  2. I think TFIOS is my favourite book of the whole year. So well written and had me laughing and crying. Oh, and a certain Emma hearts LA figures pretty highly on my list too:-)

Comments are closed.