Feminism Fridays

Rosie-the-RiveterIf you follow me on Twitter you will have noticed that I’m getting more and more angry about various feminist issues. From No More Page 3 to the recent Steubenville rape case, I could spend all day RT’ing links and tweets from feminist sites and writers. But I do try for a bit of balance there since I know not everyone wants to read that all day long and, to be fair, I don’t want to tweet it all day long – I also want to tweet cute things my boys have said, various actors I’ve recognised on old episodes of Buffy, how ridiculously delicious the new Mint Kit-Kat Chunky is…

But I do find I want to write about feminism more and more so I’ve decided to dedicate every Friday to feminism on this blog. I’ll be recommending books, websites, and writers, including a list of Feminist YA Authors* I gathered from Twitter and a list of feminist YA novels I also gathered from Twitter (I love Twitter).

* If you want to be on it, but haven’t told me you want to be on it, it’s not to late. Just reply to this post or tweet me and I’ll add you.

6 thoughts on “Feminism Fridays

  1. You know, I thought ‘feminism’ was just something I’d got left over from the 60s, wasn’t really relevant any more and just showed my age. So recently I asked my 22yo daughter if she and her female friends were made to feel inferior to men. She nearly spat out her reply about patronisation and chauvinism and added ‘what – when men have all the top jobs still?’ She’s got the picture! :) Keep bringing it up Keris!

  2. I think that this is a great idea. It’s been on my mind a lot recently too. Yesterday a girl in my seminar announced that she “wasn’t really interested in all that feminism stuff.” I couldn’t believe that an educated woman about to get a degree would say such a thing.

    1. Oh it always makes my heart sink when women say that. Sadly, some people still think it means man-hating and bra-burning, when it’s not about that at all, of course.

Comments are closed.