501

This is me. As you probably know if you’re reading this. This photo was taken a couple of years and one baby ago. I am fatter now. Older and fatter. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

A few things have led to this, yet another blog (yes, I’m a blogaholic). My online friend Michele recently started a blog to document massive changes in her life, including losing weight. I should do that, I thought. Then I saw this Photography challenge on The Fat Girl’s Guide to LivingI should do that, I thought. And then, yesterday, I read this blog, which shocked me to my core. Lucy March has vowed to blog every day up to her 40th birthday. She started at 516 days to 40. I knew my birthday was close to Lucy’s and so I worked out how far off 40 I was. 502 days. 502. Days. Until. I. Am. 40.

I sat staring at the computer, my mouth hanging open, eyes full of tears. I mean, I’m not an idiot. I knew 40 was coming, but 502 days. 502 DAYS! Once I’d recovered sufficiently (502 days!), I realised I wanted to do some sort of countdown too. And obviously I would blog about it because that’s what I do. At first I thought about doing something different every day. Or doing something new every day. But then I realised there aren’t that many opportunities since at least five days a week I barely leave the house. (Day 419: Today I conditioned first and then shampooed!)

But lying in bed at 4.30am after giving Joe a teething-soothing bottle, I started thinking about what I really want to have achieved by the time I’m 40. My 30s have been great. I’ve achieved almost all of my ambitions to a certain extent. I had a child (and then another). I learned to drive. I bought a house. I finished writing a novel, got an agent and then a publishing deal. There is only one thing that would still be on my list of New Year’s Resolutions (if I bothered making them anymore) and that would be to lose weight.

So that’s what I’m going to do. No. Seriously. I am. Starting tomorrow.

