Wanderlust

This was my dream in my late teens and early twenties. It still sounds pretty cool now, don’t you think?

Around the same time period, I went through a Danielle Steel obsession and read every book of hers I could get my hands on*. One, Wanderlust, has stuck in my mind for this exact reason – a woman alone with a camera, travelling the world. (I’d love to reread it, but I’m not sure I’d love it quite so much these days.)

* Not sure if it’s still the case, but every single one I read featured the lines “He thought she’d never looked more beautiful” and “she tied her hair in a knot at the nape of her neck”.

[Photo]

7 thoughts on “Wanderlust

  1. Oh! It sounds so lovely. It’s the ‘smallish backpack, all essentials neatly in place’ that does it for me, strangely 🙂 And the green skirt!

    *grins*

  2. So… topless? You certainly wouldn’t have been on your own for very long in that case… love the simple 50’s ideal of how life *could* be. Bless x

      1. I think it’s the gym slip pleated skirt, the ‘good (sensible) shoes’, hat and afternoon dance… just wafted all 50’s-like over me…

  3. Funny. I thought the good shoes were for walking and the hat was for the sun. Afternoon dance just made me think of our honeymoon where they had tea dances in the hotel foyer! 🙂

  4. I used to love ‘Wanderlust’! Is that the one with the woman who works at an orphanage in China (I think it was)? I read it ages ago, and I remember I loved it then, too. Ah, Danielle Steel!

  5. Add a netbook, mobile, laptop, ipod and memory stick and swap the skirt for some trousers and a top and I am THERE. Oh, and I don’t want to walk. 😉

    People DID used to walk (+ hitch + get boats, but mainly walk) all over, didn’t they? Laurie Lee went to Spain, Patrick Leigh Fermor to Greece. Their poor feet.

    Also, women in books often do that nape-hair thing. How DO they get it to stay like that?

Comments are closed.