Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads…

Back to the Future came out in 1985. I was 14 and I absolutely loved it. I saw it at the cinema twelve times and, as far as I can remember, had to queue (down the street!) every single time.

I fell completely in love with Marty McFly and, subsequently, Michael J Fox. I loved everything about the film and we still quote it quite a lot. (“Better get used to these bars, kid.”) I knew the exact moment it went to intermission (intermission! I’m so old) – when Doc Brown put the invitation on the mantelpiece. I’m slightly loath to say “invitation” there since I can’t remember exactly what it was. Because even though I saw the film a dozen times in 1985, I’m not sure when I saw it last. But I’m going to be watching it tonight and do you know why?

Because in the movie, Doc Brown sets the time on the DeLorean to 25 years in the future. To 5 July 2010. Today.

I’ve read that a few times now and it’s given me shivers every single time. When I was 14, I wonder what I thought 5 July 2010 would be like. I wonder what I thought I’d be doing. I know it must have seemed almost unimaginable. But here we are. And it’s freaking me out.

[Thanks to @therealTomKing and @carriesparkle on Twitter for the heads-up.]

UPDATED: Apparently this originated with @totalfilm magazine on Twitter and they’ve now admitted they got it wrong. Pah. Back to the Future was, however, released on 3 July 1985, so we’ll just have to celebrate its 25th anniversary (a little late) instead. *grumbles*

7 thoughts on “Roads? Where we’re going we don’t need roads…

  1. Oh, really? Oh, that’s spooky! I don’t remember when I first saw BTTF (I was 6 when it came out, so maybe the late 80s or early 90s) but even so, 2010 seemed like this really far off, futuristic time. And we STILL don’t have those flying skateboards. (I know that was BTTF 2, but still.)
    ps: I kinda miss intermissions.

  2. that is AWESOME! i must watch Back to the Future tonight with my friend who’s sleeping over, too! 😀 *croaky voice* maaaarty!!

  3. I was never really into this series but I assume Jeff was because he always calls me McFly. I’m not sure why. I was never in love with Fox but I did enjoy his movies and of course “Family Ties”.

    1. If you’re going to leave a comment, maybe read the post first, eh? That’s Back to the Future II, i.e. a different film. And I updated the post to reflect the fact that Total Film magazine, who first mentioned this, have admitted they made a mistake.

Comments are closed.