Movie Monday: The Lady Eve

Last week I really couldn’t face The Philadelphia Story. This week I didn’t even finish watching The Lady Eve. I probably will, but I watched half and it just didn’t grab me.

But it was another film with a wonderful, strong, smart, sexy heroine. She was played by Barbara Stanwyck, who I really loved in it (and how fabulous is this photo?!). I’ve never seen any of her old movies – I know her as Constance Colby in The Colbys (who was also fabulous, btw!) – but I really liked her in this.

But, like Ninotchka and Bringing Up Baby, the male lead is really wet. On the Popcorn Dialogues summary, Jennifer Crusie calls him “the human potato”. Just blah.

And also like Ninotchka, they fall in love after about five minutes and totally unbelievably. If they showed they were in love that would be fine, but to be told they’re in love, apropos of nothing, is just annoying.

I did, however, really love the card game where her father’s trying to cheat and she’s trying to stop him.

Next week: Born Yesterday, which I’m really looking forward to. Although I’m yearning ahead to Barefoot in the Park, which I’ve wanted to see for YEARS.

Seen any good films lately?

13 thoughts on “Movie Monday: The Lady Eve

  1. wow – is that actually Barbara Stanwyck in the photo? It looks like it could have been taken yesterday – how lovely and fresh-looking IS/was she?!
    I’ve never seen that film either, but I’m sure I remember Barefoot in the Park being just lovely. I bet it was because I was young and impressionable last time I saw it. Isn’t it Robert Redford (and Jane Fonda before her leg-warmer phase)?

  2. Born Yesterday is fabulous! Or Judy Holliday is, anyway :)I must locate my copy….

    And I love Barefoot in the Park. Vintage Neil Simon (it’s really easy to tell it used to be a play) and Redford and Fonda are great together.

  3. As stated elsewhere, I love Barbara Stanwyck – she has been in some real crackers! Maybe The Lady Eve is just too old for today’s audience. You should try to watch ‘Stella Dallas’ if you haven’t already. Her facial expressions are enough to start me bawling. (She was also in Roustabout with Elvis, you know)
    Barefoot in the Park – fabulous film! Jane and Robert, so believable – and I love her mum. Also, Born Yesterday – well, you’ve two treats coming, that’s all I can say!

    1. I don’t know why you always say these films are too old for today’s audience – I love plenty of old films, this one (okay, the first half of this one!) just wasn’t very good!

  4. You may (or may not, I do understand!) be interested to know that all this talk of Babs has started me thinking about changing the subject of my film studies MA…srsly. She made so many films and her personal life was so fascinating, there’s such a lot of material to get to grips with.

    1. I didn’t know you were doing a film studies MA! How fabulous. What’s the subject at the mo’? And you’ll never get away with “maybe it’s too old for today’s audience” in your essays, you know… 😉

  5. I love Barbara Stanwyck! IF you get a chance, try to check out ‘Sorry, Wrong Number’- that is a fab movie. Barb is an invalid who overhears a murder being plotted on the phone. Burt Lancaster as well.

  6. Oh dear, I probably just said the same thing again about Born Yesterday and will once more incur your wrath… It’s true though, it really is! Or maybe it’s just the people I mix with – who have absolutely NO interest in, or patience with, old movies whatsoever. (I’m sure I’ll not be inserting that into any of my essays – I never did before…)
    Fingers crossed I can do the MA, scraping up funding is the biggest hurdle. Hoping to do it next year and one of my big loves (though there are so many) is Westerns, so focussing on the historical relevance of them and hopefully will be able to do more afterwards but there again I’ll need some kind benefactor or a jolly good application to the AHRC.
    P.S. I wholeheartedly agree with Michele about Sorry, Wrong Number!

    1. Haha! I was just thinking that on the other post! But I do think you need to accept that just because a film is old it isn’t automatically good! 😉

Comments are closed.