Back to Back to the Future

Remember that day when I blogged it was the day that Marty McFly set in the time machine in Back to the Future and it turned out not to be? (i.e. it was some pesky person’s idea of a joke?) Well it is – really this time – the 25th anniversary of the film and to celebrate it’s been given a cinema release.

I’m sure I mentioned that I saw it twelve times at the cinema in 1985 and so I wasn’t going to miss the chance to see it there again. Even though the screening was at 9.10PM and therefore it didn’t finish until past my bedtime. But, you know, I can stay up late once every 25 years…

David came too – he’d seen it at the cinema when it came out as well, but just the once. I don’t think he had a crush on Michael J Fox like I did, so that’s understandable. I was a little bit worried that the nostalgia would be too much for me and I’d end up crying like I did when I heard Mississippi by Pussycat on the radio on Sunday*, but I was fine. I actually managed to forget about my 14-year-old self and enjoy the film.

I did spend quite a lot of time thinking of the things I’d never heard of before Back to the Future – malls, Calvin Klein, meatloaf, JC Penny, TaB, DeLoreans, reefer – and also about how it shouldn’t really be a PG: there’s a lot of swearing, the scene with Biff and Lorraine in the car was a lot worse than I remembered (I’d considered taking Harry – to an earlier screening – but it’ll be a while before I’d let him watch it now), but I really enjoyed it and I’m really glad we went. Anyone else been/going? I think it’s on until Thursday.

* One of the problems with growing up in the 70s is that the music that makes me feel nostalgic or makes me miss my mum is generally pretty cheesy. The last song that made me sob like a loon was The Last Farewell by Roger Whittaker!

13 thoughts on “Back to Back to the Future

  1. Had you really not heard of DeLoreans? I can remember John DeLorean being all over the news at the time of his bankruptcy and his infamous quotation, “Would you buy a used car from me?” And my favourite line from that film is, “You made a time machine out of a DeLorean?”

    Also, and I don’t mean to be argumentative, but the rating PG means “parental guidance” meaning that it’s the parents who decide what their children should & shouldn’t see and to guide them through the more adult parts of the movie. (Wikipedia say that PG in the UK means the movie shouldn’t disturb children over the age of eight) I think it’s the perfect classification.

    1. Re DeLoreans. No, I don’t think so.

      I take your point re the PG rating. I suppose I’m just used to it meaning the next step after a U. But that also means the parents then have to see the film first without the children in order to know if it is or isn’t suitable.

      (Also David was telling me there was an article in the paper at the weekend saying it wouldn’t be a PG if made today.)

  2. I can’t wait to see it with Ben but I won’t be letting him watch it until he’s much older for the same reasons. I don’t think I’d ever heard of DeLoreans either. I know I was baffled about Tabs for a while afterwards as well!

  3. Oh and, back in Scotland, my gorgeous wee niece has the cutest little body warmer/gilet which my brother and I both called her “life preserver” at every opportunity and then giggled about it.

    1. Life preserver! That’s something else I didn’t know. I remember asking my mum. I just almost bought one for Harry this very morning, but stopped myself since I was only buying it cos of Marty McFly… sigh. 🙂

  4. My English teacher lent it to me on VHS when she discovered I was the only kid in the class who hadn’t seen it. (Awww. Hooray for English teachers.)

    The 80s timeline was indeed deeply weird and unfamiliar – just as much as the 50s one, really, though that didn’t stop me from loving it. I still don’t actually understand the ‘You made a time machine? Out of a DeLorean?’ line: is the incredulity because it’s a really expensive car or because it’s like a Sinclair C5? SOMEONE EXPLAIN 25 YEAR OLD JOKE TO ME PLS.

    1. I’m not entirely sure either, tbh. I think maybe it was a bit of both? It was really expensive *and* a honking great disaster.

    2. It was just an iconic car, with the gull wing doors and all. The kind of car that would have captured the imagination of rev-heads from around that time. It’s the delivery of the line that I love the most.

      1. We saw one round her one day. Bloke stopped to get petrol (or whatever) and a small crowd of men of a certain age* gathered, asking him questions and taking pics on their phones 🙂

        * including David. He didn’t go over, but we had turned round and followed when we saw the DeLorean. But that’s cos it was the Back to the Future car.

  5. Oh I SO had the hots for MJF way back then… Family Ties, Secret of My Success (still makes my heart race) and I even went for cute (shorter) guys for a while too – talk about taking a crush too far! I always thought the Biff car scene was a tad too heavy for the rest of the film – shame they couldn’t cut it a bit for the kids of today. Harry will LOVE it when he watches it!

  6. Sorry, I have to throw in my almost really cool brag about this. My boyfriend’s Dad’s got a DeLorean. When we went to visit him last year, he took me for a drive in it. It was possibly the most exciting thing ever! His girlfriend’s got one too, and they’re in the DeLorean club, where all the British owners meet up a few times a year. The photos from the meet ups are so cool. 😀

Comments are closed.