Halloween, Peanuts-style

When I was little, I was really envious of Americans for having Halloween – it looked so cool. Now that we’re getting into it over here a bit (at least if you believe the supermarkets), I’m not actually that keen. Partly I know it’s my age, but the Charlie Brown Halloween was just so much sweeter than teenagers in Scream masks hammering on your door late at night. At least this year we’re actually going to open the door – for as long as I can remember, we’ve pretended not to be in…

Updated: Here’s a perfect example of why I don’t like Halloween. We were just watching the news and the ‘And Finally’ was kids at some Halloween party. A mother said, “It’s just a nice thing to do, get dressed up and spend time together as a family.” Judging by size, her kid was about 8 or 9 and was wearing a Jason from Friday the 13th mask. Yes, it’s lovely to dress the kids up as serial killers and spend time together as a family…

11 thoughts on “Halloween, Peanuts-style

  1. You need to learn how to do Halloween! It’s my favorite holiday of the year! You should have an adult costume party next year, with costumes and colorful food and drinks. Then you’ll come to appreciate halloween…

    1. That’s cos you’re American! And I can’t have an adult costume party – none of our friends live anywhere near us 😦

  2. I so agree. I hate halloween. Why would you want to dress your beautiful child as a zombie or a witch or frighten them to death with lots of ugly masks? I was so sad for a little boy whose mum and grandma dragged him screaming in tears down the halloween aisle in ASDA. He was petrified and clearly didn’t want the mask they were forcing him to try on and all the mum kept saying was, ‘well he’s going to have to get use to it’
    So sad 😦
    But good grief I do love Peanuts!

    1. There are some HORRIBLE things in Asda! Harry wanted to go down the aisle and I was afraid to take him – thought it would give him nightmares.

      I don’t like being scared at all, so maybe that’s it.

  3. I don’t like being scared, either, but I do quite like Halloween. I love the pumpkins and the smell of woodsmoke in the crisp night air and lighting candles in the living room. It helps that we live in a really lovely village and the local kids (all under ten, all known by us) go to each other’s houses ‘guising’ (we’re in Scotland so that’s the tradition here) dressed as witches and vampires. They have to perform something for their treat, too, like recite a poem, sing a song or tell a joke. Also good is my over-purchasing of chocolate; now I have an enormous private stash ;o)

    1. Aw, but that sounds like a lovely old-fashioned Halloween, Sarah. I wouldn’t mind that – it’s the slasher film connection I’m not so keen on!

  4. Halloween’s great for Americans – it’s an age-old tradition there. Here in the UK we’ve only recently jumped on that particular bandwagon and most people seem to act like it’s also one of our age-old traditions. It isn’t, and I hate it. At Meadowhall, our only large shopping mall for miles around, there were two ten year old witches holding out their plastic orange pumpkins and begging for money (as opposed to ‘candy’) last week (i.e. well before Halloween). It’s not on – and it’s NOT our tradition. As I say, how are we ever going to justify celebrating Thanksgiving? I can see that being the next celebratory import from the States. Historical connection? What historical connection??? *weeps*

    1. It actually is an age-old tradition here. Almost all of it has its origins here, as does, you know, America. But even if not, I don’t have a problem with important traditions from other countries – just makes the culture richer. And I’d love to celebrate Thanksgiving. Expressing gratitude and eating yummy food? What’s not to like?

  5. I think Americans do Halloween because they don’t have Bonfire Night. There are some similarities – getting out on a crisp autumn night, seeing friends, eating toffee apples and sweets. I think we all need something to celebrate at this time of year. People in the US do make such a HUGE deal of Halloween though, and I still haven’t really figured out why 🙂

Comments are closed.