November

Let’s have a drink. It’s NaNoWriMo time. *sung to the tune of Status Quo’s Margarita Time*

Yes, it’s November – the month during which I attempt to write 50,000 words of, you know, a book. This year I’m also going to attempt to do my Jessie edits, which are due on the 21st. Eek.

I have a vague idea for a book – well, I have characters and setting, not so much plot – and I’m excited to write it. Sort of.

Because I’m going to be writing so much fiction during November – and because this Thursday, 4th November, marks the first ever National Non-Fiction Day – I’m going to be mostly reading Non-Fiction during November. (At first I thought I’d only read non-fiction, but there are too many novels I’m excited to read.)

Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? Are you celebrating National Non-Fiction Day? If not… what are you doing this month?

10 thoughts on “November

  1. I have seen your tweets about this and wondered what it was all about – it’s a really exciting project. I only wish I had even half of an idea to go on. Actually, that’s not true, I have a head full of half ideas.

    I think this year I might lurk on the sidelines and watch, a bit like I tend to cling to the sides of the swimming pool because I’m so terrified of drowning. I may even bang out a short story or two. Next year, though, with some time for things to ferment in my brain, I might have a go at the whole 50,000.

    I will also not have my daughter’s school’s book fair to help organise, as she will have moved up to High School. That’s happening next week and takes a lot of time and energy.

    Good luck with your idea. How do you go about it? Do you set a target of 1,666 words per day, or do you just go with the flow?

    1. That sounds great, Caron. I do highly recommend it – it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done for my writing.

      Yes, target of 1667/day, but I’ll try to do 2000, at least at the beginning cos there’s bound to be days when I can’t do anything.

  2. Hi, I’m nanowrimoing. Have ‘no plot, no problem’, have a setting and some characters too and am excited . . . but have already procrastinated! better get on with it!

  3. Hi I am a wrimo too. I have two plot ideas one is stronger than the other as I did start it at one point but I know it needs to go in the opposite direction. So do I start over with that for Nanowrimo or do I start with my other idea and see where that takes me? Need to start tonight but where to begin……
    Good luck, KC xx http://www.katecollings.blogspot.com – always welcoming new friends xx

  4. Good luck, Keris! I’m trying NaNo this year too for the first time. I have discovered today just how good I am at procrastinating…apparently I would rather walk the dog, reorder my bookshelves and clean the living room than actually sit down and bloody well write my 1700 words. Although I’m on about 1500 as we speak so it’s not so bad. Yet.x

  5. I was going to attempt NaNoWriMo again, but then I started my Tweet10k thing and I think my brain would explode if I tried to do both…

  6. What non-fic are you gonna read? You already know memoir is my fave genre (long time since I got stuck into some fiction) so I’ll definitely have to celebrate tomorrow 🙂

    I just wish there was a non-fic version of Nano. I know I could do it on my own, but the community aspect is what makes it so appealing, I think.

    1. Sorry, missed this somehow. Have An Education, The Bolter and Diana Athill Somewhere Towards the End. And more that I can’t see from here…

Comments are closed.