What’s behind your door?

I remember when I first got a chocolate advent calendar, I thought it was the best invention since that little Dairy Milk dispenser I never got for Christmas. But now that the boys have a chocolate advent calendar, I think they’re, well, completely crap.

Yes, you get chocolate, which is not to be sniffed at. About five times a day (so far) Joe points at the advent calendar hanging on the wall and shouts, “Clok-clak!” and I have to tell him he’s not allowed another one until tomorrow.

But that’s not the problem. The problem is that there’s no picture. No magical Christmas picture. Not behind the chocolate and not on the back of the door. The chocolates are supposedly Christmassy shapes, but they’re rather unclear and that’s hardly the same since the chocolates get, you know, eaten.

When I was little, we loved seeing what was behind each door. A little robin on a branch. An angel. A sprig of holly. I miss it. In fact, I miss it so much that I bought myself a chocolate-free advent calendar. It’s not all that Chrismassy either so far, but it is cute and sparkly so it’ll have to do.

And now that I think of it, I may well buy myself – I mean, the boys – one of those Dairy Milk dispensers too.

{Picture from the completely glorious little doodles}

18 thoughts on “What’s behind your door?

  1. That’s a disappointment! Mine has christmassy pictures inside of it although the chocolates are not very so far. mmm chocolate…can i open the number 4 door please?? πŸ˜‰

    1. They’ve had them before with pictures behind the shaped plastic that’s holding the chocolate (IYSWIM), but this one hasn’t even got that! 😦

  2. I’ve never had a chocolate advent calendar (my mom hates the idea) so I still get the anticipation of wondering what’s going to be behind each door. I did go through a stage of wishing I had chocolates like everyone else but now I appreciate the one I have. Opening my suitcase this week to find that my mom had slipped this year’s calendar in when I wasn’t looking made me smile so much, and as soon as I’m home it’ll go up in the usual place. It’s a tradition I love.

  3. I never had a chocolate advent calendar – mum always bought religious/traditional ones, and even when I’ve bought my own I avoid the chocolate ones – they’re not Christmassy and the chocolate’s always horrid. There are quite a few advent calendar apps on iTunes – maybe you can get one for the Touch?

  4. I never got one of those dairy milk dispensers either. The deprivation! I think that has quite literally shaped me into the woman I am today.

  5. I swear my mum used to re-use the same advent calendar every year. We were NEVER allowed to tear off the doors, just leave them ajar… and you’re right, there was such wonderment at what picture would be behind each one… and the scanning a day before for tomorrow’s elusive number… was it going to be in the sky, near the star or on the lowly cattle’s hind quarters?

  6. I don’t like the chocolate ones either. I remember being thrilled by the simple pleasure of opening a door and seeing a picture, so I want my kids to have that too. My mum re-used our calendar every year so we learned what was behind most of the doors, so every year it was like greeting old friends, haha! I still think fondly of the little pink(!) robins in number 22 *sigh*.

    This year we’ve added a new tradition – the advent paper chain. We have 24 strips of festive paper, each with a Christmas-related activity written on it. Each day I give the kids their strip and they get to see what that day’s activity is. We do the activity then we add the strip to the paper chain. You can do this in reverse by making the chain first and taking a link off each day, but that seems destructive to me πŸ™‚ So far we have written a letter to Santa, made mincemeat (yum!), and bought Christmas mugs (ready for tomorrow’s activity which is to drink hot cocoa with candy canes in). Later activities include: watching The Snowman, driving round the neighbourhood at night to see the xmas lights, make cards/gift tags, sing Jingle Bells down the phone to grandparents. I think we’re going to like this new tradition πŸ™‚

    1. I LOVE the sound of that, Ang’! We did an activity advent last year, but just with the activities written on a calendar – I like yours much better. (We’re supposed to be doing it this year too, but I haven’t got around to it yet…). I’m actually writing about new Christmas traditions for Ready for Ten – can I quote you? (Again.)

  7. Keris I don’t mean to pee on your bonfire but we did have one of those Dairy Milk dispensers, the problem was once it was empty, it never got refilled!

    1. WHAT?! I don’t remember that at all. But it makes sense. Where do you even get the little bars from? Maybe I won’t bother buying one after all…

  8. NO! I hate chocolate advent calendars. There’s the advent calendar and then there’s chocolate. And never the twain should meet. And certainly never ever white (ugh) chocolate. And the advent calendar has to have Father Christmas and reindeer on, otherwise the whole thing is ruined. The end.
    PS The doors should NEVER be torn off!!!! What kind of mischief is that????
    πŸ™‚ xx

Comments are closed.