Just because you’ve got a Kindle…

I’ve heard a lot of people say that they could never have an e-reader because they love books too much. And I answer that when they deliver your Kindle, they don’t take away your “real” books – you can not only keep the ones you have, you can also buy more. If you’re anything like me, you won’t be able to stop yourself. So I thought I’d share my post-Kindle book behaviour.

So far, I have bought a grand total of four books on the Kindle. My own (natch), Talli Roland’s The Hating Game, Nora Ephron’s I Feel Bad About My Neck and a weightloss book with an embarrassing title, so I’m not telling you what it is. I’ve also downloaded Pride & Prejudice and What Katy Did, both for free. I’ve also downloaded around forty samples (the samples are my favourite thing about the Kindle so far. I LOVE them.) Oh and I read an ARC of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium via NetGalley.

During the same time period, I’ve bought Nora Ephron’s I Remember Nothing and Armistead Maupin’s Mary Ann in Autumn (I’m going into hospital for a couple of days at the end of this week, so I treated myself to those two to take with). I also bought a book by Sonya Sones (can’t remember which one, too lazy to get up and check) and Forever by Judy Blume, which I haven’t read since I was a teenager and really must read again. Both of those were from the charity shop. And I bought Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon from GreenMetropolis and read The DUFF by Kody Keplinger, which I was sent as part of an ARC tour.

From the library I got Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, The Bolter by Frances Osborne, Celebrity by Marina Hyde, Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan, Encore Valentine by Adriana Trigiani, This Duchess of Mine by Eloisa James and ROOM by Emma Donoghue.

Yes, I’ve actually managed to get more off-Kindle books than on-Kindle books. I don’t imagine that changing (although I’m looking forward to the day I can get e-books from the library).

How about you? Have you got a Kindle? Are you still buying “real” books?

19 thoughts on “Just because you’ve got a Kindle…

  1. Ha! i was having this conversation with someone just last night. I said that books were not precisely analogous to MP3s, and though I saw eBooks continuing to steadily grow in use I didn’t see eBook readers dominating in the same way MP3 players do for quite a long time.

    There is something very lovely – for some, almost emotional – about a real paper book and the simplicity of sharing one with someone else whether they have a reader (or the same kind of reader) or not. But there is also something very convenient about taking a reader on holiday with all your books loaded onto it, etc. Indeed no-one is taking away my heaving bookshelves and cartons of books; indeed I can see myself having paper AND e-versions of favourite books in the future, just as I have CD and MP3 versions of favourite albums.

    If anything, an eBook reader might even make you pick up physical books more, by feeding your reading habit and encouraging you to borrow from your friends or your local library.

    Years after emails have become the preferred mode of communication there is still no paper-free office, and although I work online I still use a handwritten paper diary. The combination of the virtual and hard copy is even better than one or the other.

  2. You know I have! And I haven’t bought a book for ages, but yes, I still buy “real” ones, although I might get more joy from buying Kindle ones tbh. If I buy a real book, I have to wait 1-2 weeks for it to be delivered, or go to the shop where either they don’t have it or I have to pay a premium for it. Whereas I can order a book on my Kindle and be reading it within a couple of minutes. That is miraculous to me.

    And samples are definitely the best thing, although Netgalley’s ARCs are great, too. I think library e-books are just a matter of time (may be a long time here…) but having some kind of (national?) lending library would really make the Kindle a must-own.

    I’m so jealous you could get ROOM from your library, btw! I’m about 24th on the list (but I was at 30 a couple of months ago, so it’s comin’!)

  3. I should say from the outset that I only read about 10 books a year, due to the fact that I just don’t have time (or I don’t reserve time?) to read more than that. I got my Kindle a couple of months ago in the hope that it would encourage me to read more by virtue of being so convenient. I spend a lot of time waiting for kids during music lessons and various clubs so it’s great to shove the Kindle in my bag and make use of all those little bits of time. And it’s working! I’ve been reading about 3 books a month (unheard of!). I especially love the instant factor when purchasing books and the sample feature is great. However, as we are a homeschooling family, we will always need physical books – textbooks, reference books and big fat history books that you can just dip in and out of. The one thing that’s hard to do on the Kindle is to idly flip through a book. They are pretty much designed for sequential reading. Kindles are great if you want to search for words or phrases, which is useful for older kids, but younger kids need the tactile quality and the ability to flip through a book for something that interests them. My 8 yr old son is a real “dipper”. Give him a novel and he wouldn’t know what to do with it, but give him a book entitled “WWI Aircraft” with lots of diagrams and he’s all over it. I thought my book-devouring 12 yr old would love an e-reader, but she isn’t interested. I wonder if any kids like them? Certainly based on our household, I would say not.

    1. Harry’s very keen on mine, but that’s just because he likes technology – he doesn’t actually want to read anything on it!

      Have you seen the books on the iPad? There are some amazing ones I’m sure would appeal to kids. This one looks great – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wc3fghSJvBM

      (I can’t get YouTube on this computer, so if that doesn’t work, search Oliver Jeffers Heart and the Bottle.)

      1. Yep, I think kids would be more excited by an iPad, but I think older kids (and students) would love a large Kindle for textbooks. You can highlight stuff, and it saves carrying around some really heavy books. I believe in some US universities, they’re even loaning them to students for a deposit, which is a great idea.

  4. I really, really love books and that is why I love my Kindle, cos it lets me read more books. With my Kindle I can take plenty of books with me everywhere I go, and I can buy new Kindle books in an instant. So never again will I be stuck on a late-running train with nothing to read.

    I still buy and read printed books too. Especially books with pictures (e.g. ‘Pattern’ by Orla Keily) cos these don’t work so well on a Kindle.

  5. A book is a book, in whatever format! I have heard that there is some real elitism going on with some people declaring they could NEVAH use a Kindle. I don’t have one but I wouldn’t say no if someone were to offer me one. Although I use our libraries on a very regular basis, I have always had a ‘thing’ about reading second hand and pre-read (secondhand) books. Therefore, I think Kindles are a great way of dealing with phobias such as mine. No stains, strange whiffs, folded pages, nasty squashed things (ugh!) on some pages that I simply have to skip, etc.There’s nothing like reading a brand new book fresh from the shop but it’s not always financially viable. (I think my phobia began when, as a child, I read somewhere that someone had had to burn their books as they’d been reading them when they had scarlet fever.) (Germs.) Not to mention that some people are very messy when it comes to reading. Kindle – quick wipe down, germs gone, ready to go with a clean screen. Marvellous!
    PS What Katy Did – one of my all-time faves! And Pride and Prejudice – next on my list to read. What a like-mind….
    PPS Good luck with the hospital thing. Hope you’re up and about very soon after! 🙂 xxx

    1. I definitely do think there’s some snobbery involved. People tend to say “I could never have a Kindle. I just love books too much.” Yeah, and I don’t?

      As for your phobia… I would be ASTONISHED if anyone has ever caught anything from a book. Ever. (It’s not even true about loo seats, so books? Highly unlikely.)

  6. Ha 🙂 I have a kindle and it doesn’t take away from the actual books I buy at all. I mostly just use it to read books from netgalley!

  7. Was glad to read this post as I’m considering purchasing a Kindle early next year, I’ve heard people say how wonderful it is and I’ve also heard the negative comments from diehard book lovers about not having the smell of new books, how great ‘real’ books are, how you can’t treasure e-books. Like you, I’m a huge book lover and have a massive collection. The downside? My collection is too big, and I go through chick-lit books so quickly. I quite fancy a Kindle due to this fact and also because when I go on long journeys my bag is weighed down with books.

    Ebooks can never replace ‘real’ books. But there are quite a few handy factors with the e-readers that are appealling so I’m definitely going to be buying one!

  8. Hah! People who say “I coud never use a Kindle” are the same type of people who say, “I could never drive an automatic car!” Fools.

    Although, I was one of them until I got my Kindle App on my iPad.

    I still love paper books, of course (How can your favourite authors sign your Kindle?) but the reading experience of the Kindle (App) is genius, really.

  9. My wife has bought me a Kindle for Christmas and I am not allowed to open it until Christmas Day. I have read my first Kindle book on her Kindle – The Grand Design – and it was a delight. I await unwrapping my present with a smattering of excited anticipation…….

  10. *waves*
    My bookish behaviour is much like yours. Kindle is lovely, and I love that I can have a “sneak peek” at any book I like before I buy, but it hasn’t killed my REAL book buying at all. I still *heart* paper pages!
    I would say it’s been a 50/50 split between virtual and hard-copies bought since the (beautiful, fabulous, wonderful, insert similar describing words) Kindle arrived.

  11. My mother is obsessed with her Kindle, which is referred to as “My Kindle ebook” with very clear quote marks around it. I intend to have a little play at Christmas, and will probably get the app when I get an iPad next year. (I really, really want an iPad.) Apart from anything else, losing the 7kg of books I take on every trip away would be a blessing…

Comments are closed.