I *heart* me

Love Yourself by jenzet on etsy

This year is a big year for me. As I’ve already mentioned, I turn 40 this year and so I’ve been thinking about… not resolutions (I don’t do resolutions), but about an intention for the year. What do I want out of this landmark year?

And then I saw this post on not your average ordinary and I thought… yes.

Brandi says, “My new year’s resolution is an easy one: love myself.” This includes “…exercising regularly, eating better than ever before, doing things that I love, being with friends.”

I’d already decided I wanted to do all of those things, but I hadn’t managed to think of them collectively as loving myself.

And I know it sounds kind of wanky. But I don’t care. Bring it on. 🙂

15 thoughts on “I *heart* me

  1. Well, if that sounds a bit wanky, then this will even more so… not ashamed about being in couples therapy at the mo (when we actually manage to get there!) and our current target is to become healthy and happy individuals, because until we are, then we won’t function as a couple. There – saved you £50! It’s something I remind myself of when I feel like we’re pursuing different interests… we’ve spent far too long doing a bit of this and that and none of what either of us actually wants! Crazy? Probably.

    So, yes – I will be trying to heart me too. Not quite happening just yet, but I hope it will ;o) xxx

  2. A wonderful goal. I’m 30 this year and I’ve been thinking about what to do to celebrate the milestone. A friend of mine turned 40 this year and invited family and friends to ’40 before I’m 40′ activities – a whole range of different things, from going to a meditation day to singing Sound of Music songs at her place. I think I might do something along those lines. But the ‘love yourself’ theme would work well alongside that :)))

  3. Wonderful idea. I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, either. I was talking to my husband New Year’s eve about this kind of goal, and he said to me that if I were to resolve anything, it should be to respect myself. Not unlike loving oneself. So I’m right there with you!

Comments are closed.