Falling in love with your characters

I’m always falling in love with characters in books. I fell so in love with Peekay, the main character in my favourite book of all time, Bryce Courtenay’s The Power of One, that I dreamed about him and lay on the bed crying when I finished the book.

Lots of people seem to have fallen in love with Dan from my book and I must admit I had a bit of a crush on him myself when I was writing, but Finn – one of the two main characters in my new book (Jessie NYC) is actually more my type. I love him rather a lot.

I actually think it’s really important to fall in love with your characters (and not just the hot boys) because if you don’t fall in love with them, how do you expect anyone else to?

But it’s not just the hot boys. The thing that I found so surprising about Michael Tolliver Lives, Armistead Maupin’s first Tales of the City book for years, was how happy I was to be catching up with the characters. I felt like I knew them and I was overwhelmed with how fond I felt. It’s a cliche, but it really was like catching up with old friends. Really.

Do you have book character crushes?

{photo source}

4 thoughts on “Falling in love with your characters

  1. Oh I definitely fall for boys in books, recently I had to stop and work out how old a character was to check whether it was Zac Efton inappropriate or Taylor Lautner inappropriate!

    I love it when I feel like over the course of a book I get to know the characters and really care about what happens to them even after the book ends.

  2. I wouldn’t say i’ve ever had a crush on a book character, but i can definitely relate when you read more books with the same characters. I love to see how they have been getting on with themselves and often find myself thinking about them at work or when im doing something really mundane, like the washing up!

  3. My first, and enduring love is Toby from Lynne Reid Bank’s ‘The L-Shaped Room’. When he was compared with a sparrow, it really touched my heart for some reason. I also love ANY Jennifer Crusie hero – they’re so sparky and larger than life.

Comments are closed.