A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess

Gemma’s debut novel was one of the best books I read last year and so I could hardly wait to get stuck into A Girl Like You. It didn’t disappoint – I liked it even more than The Dating Detox.

After breaking up with her boyfriend of, well, forever, Abigail Wood must learn how to be single from scratch. Her dating skills are abysmal, and she ricochets from disaster to disaster – until Robert, one of London’s most notorious lotharios, agrees to coach her.

With his advice, she learns to navigate the bastard-infested waters of the bar scene and practices the art of being bulletproof. The new Abigail is cocky, calm, composed…but what happens when she meets her match?

Like The Dating Detox, it’s absolutely hilarious and, like Sarra Manning’s You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me, I didn’t want it to end (having such a good book run at the moment).

I loved Abigail, and the supporting characters were so rounded and convincing that at one point I actually found myself thinking, “Gemma’s so lucky she can just transcribe what her friends get up to…” before remembering I was reading a novel. It genuinely made me pause to remember that the characters weren’t actually real.

So, so good. I can’t wait to read Gemma’s next book.

One thought on “A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess

  1. Like you, I absolutely loved The Dating Detox and wanted Sass from that as one of my friends, so I am really looking forward to reading A Girl Like You very, very soon. It sounds fab.

Comments are closed.