Meanwhile, back on Planet Earth…

Currently Snoopy-obsessed

Walking along the canal this morning, Harry had his arms out in front of him (bent at the elbows, like a forklift) and when I asked why he said it was because he was “downloading”. For the next few minutes he kept up his usual running commentary on the activities of his imaginary computer.

I started thinking about my YA book. I wondered if I could get rid of one character but then thought I’d need another character that I didn’t really want to write. I wondered about the love interest: whether one ending would be too obvious, but the alternative too far-fetched. After a few minutes, I tuned back into Harry:

“Oh. Angry Birds is downloaded. Huh. It’s a different picture on the front. It says £100 on this side and just £1 on my side. Oh, that’s okay. It’s transferring from the MacBook Air to the MacBook Pro…”

I smiled to myself. The boy’s in a world of his own. And then I realised I’d just spent the last five minutes in a world of my own too. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, eh?

3 thoughts on “Meanwhile, back on Planet Earth…

  1. Sounds like he’s going to be a brilliant fiction writer when he grows up. I miss having children of that age. Their imaginations are so free. Ours have been tamed and trained. We have to escape from the conditioning before we can develop our stories and that’s a shame.

Comments are closed.