“The coolest thing ever!”

I’ve had this saved in my Twitter favourites since the middle of last year (thank you, @JillMansell!). I just watched it and it blew me away. Apart from the fact that it made me sob, as flashmobs always do, it just looks completely gorgeous and I can’t imagine how much time it took to organise.

Also? I didn’t know this song was by the Black Eyed Peas. My publishers are right about me: I really do have my finger on the pulse. Ahem.

I would love to be part of a flashmob, but I don’t know what I’d like to do. Any ideas? If you were going to join a flashmob, what would you want to do?

17 thoughts on ““The coolest thing ever!”

  1. Love flash mobs and this one is absolutely brilliant. I love the T-mobile one at the airport, as well. The really appeal to me because I grew up watching Hollywood musicals where people would be walking along, just talking, and then suddenly burst into a ‘spontaneous’ song-and-dance routine that everyone else knew how to do. So, if I were ever to do a flash mob, I’d like to recreate something like that but tailored to my own life. That would be the height of coolness!

    1. Fab. That’s probably why I like them too – brought up on musicals. What’s your favourite? And have you seen 500 Days of Summer?

      1. Singin’ in the Rain is my all-time favourite musical – absolutely love Gene Kelly and especially how blissful he looks when he’s doing the title song and dance. And no, I haven’t seen 500 Days of Summer yet, although I have watched the dance scene in the park. Keep meaning to catch it the next time it’s on Sky Movies.

  2. That’s utterly brilliant and made me all teary. I can’t being to imagine what it must have been like for the Black Eyed Peas watching it grow like that in front of them. I loved seeing how genuinely excited Oprah was too.

    They did an Aber flashmob to protest against the tuition fee hike. It was very poor though, a real disappointment 😦

    1. I know! I’m surprised they could concentrate on performing it without going “Ooh!” ever few seconds.

      That’s a shame about the Aber one. I signed up for a Blackburn one last year but never heard anything else about it. Pah.

  3. I would be awful in a flashmob but they’re so brilliant! The t-mobile one is my favourite! I think musicals loving probs does contribute a huge amount! Gene Kelly all the way!

  4. Was it you that linked the Improv flash mob where they all froze at Grand Central Station? I loved that one πŸ™‚ And the one where people start singing in the food court of a shopping centre?

Comments are closed.