Worst cake scenario

I was reading a book the other day and noticed a couple of misused words: “odorous” instead of “odious” and “sensibility” to mean “being sensible”. This kind of thing drives me mad in books, but in life? I find it kind of funny.

The same day I read the above, I also discovered that “trite” doesn’t mean what I thought it meant. I thought it was naive, unsophisticated, but in a negative way – minimising the importance of something. Like “That berk from Blue’s trite comments after 9/11…”

But, no. It means hackneyed, pedestrian, unoriginal. Which is kind of a shame because a) I’ve used “trite” in the wrong context many times (*blush*) and b) I don’t know the word I need – is it French? I’ve a feeling it’s French. Anyone?

Anyway. The title of this post comes from the lovely Meg Sanders who actually heard someone describe something as the “worst cake scenario”. I prefer it to the original. The other malapropism (although can that refer to phrases as well as just words?) I prefer is one my old boss once said: “She’s burned her britches with me anyway.” Snort.

My final fave comes from the 25 Dumbest Tweets of 2010: “Ladies that fall in luv with other peoples boyfriends have low selves of steam.”

What are your favourite mispronounced words or phrases?

{The picture is from the jaw-dropping Cake Wrecks}

22 thoughts on “Worst cake scenario

  1. Okay, I admit it – I love reading romance novels. The steamier the better. What I hate: When authors use wrong words, and either their editor or their spell check doesn’t catch it. Although I can’t even blame the spell check doesn’t work if the word is right, but not in this context.

    Misused words I remember in this context are:
    – she peaked his interest
    – the head of his penis hit her palette
    and, my favourite (in the sense that it makes me shudder, cringe and giggle, while at the same time totally killing the mood:)
    -his tongue lathed her vagina.

  2. See, I always found French confusing because gauche also means ‘left’ or turn left. Life’s full of little foibles like that..
    (Was shocked to see my author using ‘adverse’ when she meant ‘averse’ and just realised that she also put ‘envelope’ when she meant ‘envelop’ (as in the book you read). I’m thinking of writing to the publisher. And why not?!)

    1. Gauche is the word I was thinking of, but I still don’t think it’s quite the right (which means turn right and also “correct”! 😉 ) word since gauche just means naive rather than offensively naive, if you know what I mean. Maybe there *isn’t* a word to replace what I thought “trite” meant! I bet the Germans have one… 😉

  3. Can I just say “Do That To Me One More Time” by Brittney Spears? BIG mistake. HUGE. *waves posh carrier bags in snooty faces and leaves*.
    My first husband once told me that he had “The constitution of an Iron”
    (later discovered he really WAS full of hot air – so Freudian slip methinks).
    Oh, and in the same book we were reading? There was a “poll from floor to ceiling” – hmmmm.
    Did you also get stuck on the last line of dialogue? Please tell me you did…

  4. My mum always says ‘dishelved’ instead of ‘disheveled’ but my favourite hate, and one that I’ve moaned about many times before, is people who say ‘at the end of the day’ when what they’re talking about has got nothing to do with bedtime at all.

  5. No but see now facetiousness has crept in, hasn’t it? Gauche is French and has at least three different meanings to we who are not native French speakers. (I have no idea how many meanings it actually has to French speakers). However, ‘right’ does have different meanings, yes, of course – but not as translated from French. One could speculate about millions of English words with two or more meanings (I love doing that but it tends to get tedious for others) but it’s not really the same thing now, is it? 😉

  6. oh oh oh! I read this, giggling away, and then moved to another blog – and immediately read the line

    “I feel my shackles rising”

    Lovely image. Not so much becoming irritated as breaking free from tyranny…
    🙂

  7. “A new leash on life” is one I hear a lot, as is “must of”, “could of” etc (Argh!) And I saw “shoe-in” for shoo-in in a book last week *headdesk*.

  8. ha ha I’m loving all these! Our *whisper* Librarian at work still calls Mr Dhal ‘Ronald’ (yep, WITH an N) and cos she’s the Librarian I haven’t the heart to correct her…. AND she says ‘escape goat’…. which just makes me grin…. maybe I don’t want her to say the right things – such a source of material!

    And re: the shoo-in … I’ve never heard of ‘shoo-in’. I’ve heard of ‘shoehorn in’… trying to get something to fit…. what’s a shoo-in?

    1. I love “escape goat” 🙂

      A shoo-in is someone who’s guaranteed to get a job or something. Like “Russell Kane is a shoo-in to win that dance show I can’t remember the name of”. Or “with this fab new book, Debs being published is a shoo-in.”

  9. aha – okay, then – thanks *trying furiously to work out how I can drop it into a conversation today … difficult to do with 2 cats and a carpenter*!

Comments are closed.