Thank you

I’m not going to keep banging on about My TV Hell (probably*), but I did just want to mention one more thing*… Vanessa ended the segment (and also the show) by asking Shamash’s advice. Her question to him was something along the lines of “What advice can you give to this poor woman [i.e. me] who thinks virtual friends are the same as real friends?!” **

I think all your amazingly lovely responses to yesterday’s post prove that while virtual friendships may not be the same as so-called real friendships (I think Shamash said the brain reacts to them differently), they are still absolutely wonderful and to be valued rather than mocked. Thank you. You’ve made me laugh and cry and feel very, very lucky.

* There may be more flashbacks so I do need to leave some room for further ranting…

** Please do bear in mind that this may not be exactly what she asked. I haven’t seen any sort of playback, so I could of course be remembering it wrong.

16 thoughts on “Thank you

  1. Sometimes I feel like my Twitter friendships are more real than my ‘face-to-face’ ones. I’ve never found a group of people who are so loving, supportive and encouraging than my tweeps. ‘Not real, my arse’, is all I can say to Vanessa! 🙂

  2. Celestial Poet – LIKE!!!! I agree wholeheartedly. I also have an amazing bunch of mummy friends from the babycentre network, without whom our lives would have a gaping great hole. Vanessa probably has NO friends so fails to distinguish between the types…

  3. I appreciate that Vanessa was doing her job. That is the only reason that I am holding off from posting a vitriolic message about what I think of her referring to our lovely Keris Stainton as “that poor woman” that would probably end up with me being sued.

    Some of my very closest friends have mutated from being virtual friendships into the real world. And I have some friends who I have never met in person, and some that I possibly never will, but they mean so much to me. I think of them often, wondering how they are, look forward to catching up. Just because it is all online, doesn’t make it invalid.

    *Stamps away grumbling about invasive, clever, interviewing experts*

    1. Thanks, Rebecca. She might not have said “this poor woman” though. I think she did, but I’m not 100% sure. That may have been just what it felt like…

      But, yes, what I’d like to know is what does make a friendship then? Only when you meet someone in real life? And what if you then never meet them again? Are they still friends or does it wear off? Stupid attitude.

  4. I agree completely. Just because you don’t meet up in person with someone does not make them any less important as a friend.

  5. “Poor woman” – what a patronising cow – I’d have either hit her or started crying right then! It sounds like one of my turning up at work topless dreams…. petrifying. (((((hugs))))) ((((((know you can’t feel virtual ones, but they’re just as heartfelt))))

  6. I’m not virtual! Nor are any of the other tweeps!! She’s talking about avatars, surely? Oh, do I want to punch her in the mouth?!! I know physical violence isn’t the way forward but it’d be so satisfying.. And there’s no way you are ‘a poor woman’!! Condescending cow. (Her, not you!!) 🙂 we love you! xx

    1. She actually came out with that old shite about how the people I chat with might actually really be 50-year-old men. Or something like that. I don’t think she’s updated her ideas about the internet for a while…

  7. It just goes to show how close minded and unprepared to listen Vanessa was, both in the way she went about interviewing you and in the way she was not prepared to hear any of the positive points.

    I count a fair few Twitter friends within my circle of friends, some I’ve had the opportunity to meet in real life (and they’re always just as lovely in person as they are online) and some I haven’t had the chance to meet yet. I know one thing though, if it wasn’t for them and the continued support they offer me I’m not sure I’d have made it through the last 18 months or so.

    1. Thanks, Jenni. Yes, that’s something I would have liked to get across – how it’s not just tweeting what you had for breakfast, but genuine support and friendship. So disappointing.

  8. I wasn’t going to reply to your post yesterday or this one because I probably am a bit biased, due to the fact that I’ve read your blog since your running days, generally find myself in agreement with your views/likes/dislikes and have always admired you (ew… hello restraining order!)
    However, your post played on my mind a bit. As people have already said, Ms Feltz’s method of interviewing seems a bit irresponsible. She obviously came to the interview with a firm view against Twitter et al, which is fine since you’re never going to be able to blanket these views and all the things that make you form this opinion completely. The sad thing is, instead of using her views to create an interesting debate, really exploring the subject and then presenting both sides of the argument for people to make their own informed decision she’s approached the interview with the arrogance that she is right, end of. So, that’s disappointing in itself, never mind the fact that she was a bit deceptive and underhand to you, especially when she knew that you are not experienced in TV interviews.
    What irks me even more though (and since I do like I good rant…) is that Ms Feltz has always been extremely forthright with her views, including comments on journalistic integrity in the past! Hmph!

    1. Thank you so much, Michelle – and thank you for sticking with me all this time! (I’ve signed up for a running course starting in a couple of weeks so my running days will be here again! 😉 ). I agree that it would have been better to have a proper debate, but she obviously feels so strongly anti-Twitter (for personal reasons!) that was never going to happen. And it’s her show after all.

  9. My husband was a bit sceptical the first time I met up with people I’d found online (sounds like a dating agency but I mean Twitter, mostly!) but he now comes along and finds it funny when they say, ‘So you’re Mr Tweetie!’, like they’ve known him for years.

    I value my online friends just as much as my real-life friends (and I use that term only as a vague descriptive, not a definition of how I see them) and many have gone on to be both. In fact, I’d say I speak to Twitter Mates more than real-life friends because they tend to be available more, at the tap of a keyboard. I don’t think that makes me sad. I think that makes me lucky.

    I think you’re right that Vanessa went into the interview with a rigidly fixed viewpoint. She used you as a stereotype, something she should be all too wary of, given that she’s often ridiculed as a stereotype herself. I think her view was based on personal views; a good interviewer puts personal feelings to one side in the interests of a balanced interview, which should tell you my opinion of Vanessa as an interviewer. She should never have set you up the way she did.

    I’m really glad you’re getting positives out of this. Onwards and upwards, as you very rightly said!

    1. “I’d say I speak to Twitter Mates more than real-life friends because they tend to be available more, at the tap of a keyboard. I don’t think that makes me sad. I think that makes me lucky.”

      Completely agree, Tamsyn – thank you x

Comments are closed.