Authors for Japan: my top picks

I know I shouldn’t have favourites, but I just wanted to highlight a few items that keep jumping out at me and shouting “Bid!”

1: Signed hardback KAT, INCORRIGIBLE by Stephanie Burgis

Kat, Incorrigible is the US version of Stephanie Burgis’s book A Most Improper Magick, which I’ve been meaning to read for ages. While the UK cover is lovely, I absolutely LOVE the US one (left). You can also bid for an ARC of the sequel, A Tangle of Magicks.

4: Six months children’s/YA writer mentoring with Susie Day

This offer is just completely amazing. After I read Big Woo! I got a little bit obsessed with Ms Susie Day (I don’t think I’ve told her that…) and if this had been available and, er, if I hadn’t already had a book deal, I would probably have sold one of my children in order to buy this.

11: Picture book critique and editorial letter from Tracy Marchini

I would love to write a picture book, but so far have failed to come up with a single (non-stupid) idea. Before launching her own editorial service, Tracy worked for Curtis Brown, i.e. she’s an expert.

45: Box of teen fiction worth £200 from HACHETTE CHILDREN’S BOOKS

When I got the email offering this item, my mouth literally dropped open. Super-generous on Hachette’s part and super-exciting for any teen fiction fans out there. And I’m not just saying that because one of the books is mine. No, really, I’m not.

55: Character name in SARRA MANNING’s new adult book + signed book of your choice

As well as Susie Day, I’m embarrassingly fangirly about Sarra Manning’s books, particularly her two adult novels, Unsticky and You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me which I absolutely adored and recommend to everyone. Sarra is also offering to name a character in her next YA book, which is called Adorkable and sounds fabulous. I would like to say “decisions, decisions” but they’re both out of my price range anyway. Boo.

Do make sure you have a good look around because these five lots are just the tip of the iceberg. The site now has an index so you can see everything available at a glance. If you have a particular author in mind use the search box or choose from one of the categories.

Happy bidding!

