Watching… Heartbreaker

Lovely author Gemma Burgess (if you haven’t read her books, you MUST) recommended this film on her blog (and I remember reading pretty good reviews of it when it came out) so I was delighted when it turned up from SofaCinema (along with Mrs ‘Arris Goes to Paris, which David refused to watch just because of the title!).

It’s French so it’s subtitled, but it’s just a lovely, romantic, funny film. Plus much of it’s set in Monaco, which looks beautiful. It stars Vanessa Paradis who I’ve never seen in a film before (“She can have sex with Johnny Depp whenever she wants,” said David. DAVID!) and Romain Duris, who was perfect. Also, Andrew Lincoln’s in it. Or, as David said, “Why’s Egg being French?” (He wasn’t, he was English.) Possibly the best thing about it though was Julie Ferrier as the sister. She was hilarious and just so charismatic and watchable. I could’ve done without the drunk best friend, but the Dirty Dancing scene totally made up for it (swings and roundabouts, eh?). Loved it.

3 thoughts on “Watching… Heartbreaker

  1. But why isn’t the title French? I hate it when that happens. Also, been to Monaco, absolutely loved it, it IS as beautiful as it looks.

  2. I love how Johnny Depp transcends male and female boundaries…he is just THAT sexy haha! It sounds great 🙂

    I wonder if you ever saw my blog (I’m @thebadactress) I was just to shy to give you the link directly…Would really value your opinion x

Comments are closed.