Reading… Caddy’s World by Hilary McKay

I’m lucky enough to be sent lots of books to review. I almost always* try to read the first chapter to see if it grabs me before deciding what to do. If I like the first chapter, the book goes on my (enormous) TBR pile. If I don’t, it goes on my (equally enormous) give away pile.

When Caddy’s World arrived, I thought it was a very pretty cover (and it’s a hardback with the cover printed directly on rather than on a dust jacket – I like that) and sat down to read the first chapter… and then just kept on reading. I can’t ever remember doing that before!

If you’ve read any of Hilary McKay’s Casson Family books, you’ll know just what to expect, but I hadn’t so I was just… The quote from The Guardian on the cover says “Entrancing” and it’s exactly right. I was entranced.

I finished it this morning in tears and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in the series. It’s just a sweet, funny, clever, sad and magical book. I absolutely loved it.

* Sometimes I don’t read the first chapter. Sometimes I don’t even read the back cover blurb. Sometimes I only have to look at the cover before a book goes on the give away pile. Like this one.

8 thoughts on “Reading… Caddy’s World by Hilary McKay

  1. Eeeewww to *that* book – but it got some good reviews on Amazon. I’m heading over to get this one now, thanks – I LOVE your recommendations!

    1. Debs, that other cover makes me feel sick! Had to hide it from Harry (and me…)

      Don’t get this one – get the first one, Saffy’s Angel. x

  2. I’ve never heard of Hilary McKay but I do like the sound of entrancing books.

    I’m weird I know, but that cover would probably make me sit down on the stairs and start reading!

  3. I agree with everything you have said; such a wonderful review for such an absolutely wonderful book! I just loved ‘Caddy’s World’, it is superb and just magical…so perfect, so heart warming…
    Hilary McKay is my favourite author and she never fails to surprise me with brilliance!
    I too was entranced, by everything about the book, including the beautiful cover (and how right you are about hardbacks without dust jackets, which just get in the way.)

Comments are closed.