I ♥ Google Street View

One of my favourite things is to read about a place in a book or magazine and go and look it up on Google Street View. Yes, I know. I don’t get out much. But really! It’s a great way for discovering places you wouldn’t necessarily see.

A couple of days ago the wonderful writer Julie Klam linked to this article on Twitter. Once I’d read it, I looked up 157th and Broadway on Google and had a good wander round. These are the things that make me happy.

Anyway, I thought it would be a good way to share some of the locations featured in Jessie ♥ NYC. The above is The Ansonia*, which I’m always going on about, and here’s its first appearance in the book…

Jessie stopped staring up at the beautiful building her mum lived in long enough to notice the boy who got into the cab they’d just got out of. She only got a quick glimpse of him as he flung himself in the back – he must have been in a hurry – but he was definitely cute. And holding a bunch of flowers too! Maybe Emma was right about the hotness of New York boys. 

* It’s not called The Ansonia in the book. It’s called The Albright. Any ideas where I got that name from? 😉

6 thoughts on “I ♥ Google Street View

  1. I looked up our house a couple weeks ago. It was a few years old as the neighbors still had trees but still cool. I think I shall now look up your place since I will never get there. 😀

Comments are closed.