Reading… How To Do Everything And Be Happy by Peter Jones*

* not the Peter Jones from Dragon’s Den. No.

I’ve read a lot of self-help books over the years. A lot. And, yes, they’ve definitely helped; in fact one of them – a Paul McKenna of all things – led to me completely changing my life. So I don’t really read self-help books anymore, because my life is pretty ace. But the thing is there are lots of things I want to do and I’m lazy so I do need something to act as a kick up the bum and How To Do Everything And Be Happy turned out to be just the thing!

This book is an easy read and it made me laugh more than once too. But the great thing about it is it not only makes you think about what you want, but it shows you how to put strategies in place to help you actually make some progress towards the things you want. That’s what I was always missing with the self-help books I used to read – I’d read them and have all manner of big plans, but then I’d do… nothing. Hence me having read so many of the flippin’ things; it’s like diets – if they actually worked, we wouldn’t need them.

But Peter Jones has the reader making all manner of lists and then – and this is the crucial bit – actually making appointments for action. Each month, you book in a Boxing Day (you’ll have to read the book to find out why it’s called that) for doing whatever you want; a day for working on your Now List (like a Bucket List, but with things you want to do asap) and a Goals Day (for, you know, working on your goals). You actually put them all in your diary – Peter is very big on diaries – and move them at your peril (nothing will happen to you, but you’re only cheating yourself!) Plus you set up Trophy Boards, both for things you’ve already done and for things you’d like to do. We’ve already set up the former and Harry absolutely loves it – he’s quite sentimental anyway and enjoys looking through the stuff pinned to the board and reminiscing (you know, about what he did last weekend…).

Now I know that this kind of thing works because since I set up my 40 List at The Big Zeroes I’ve achieved loads more already this year than I did in the last two years and I’ve got my first Boxing Day today so I’ll let you know tomorrow how it went.

In the meantime, I’d highly recommend this book. If you’re still not convinced, you can read more about it here: How To Do Everything And Be Happy.

14 thoughts on “Reading… How To Do Everything And Be Happy by Peter Jones*

  1. I completely love books like that too. I always think that if you only take one thing from each of them, your life will be a better place. Onwards & upwards!

  2. This sounds great, and I am definitely going to get hold of a copy.
    I am very lazy but I do love lists so hopefully it will spur me into action!

  3. I gave up on Self Help books a long time ago but this one really knocked my socks off. I have achieved so much more since reading this than I have with any other book.
    Glad you enjoyed it too Keris

  4. I am definitely getting this book. I have so many things I want to do (including following your lead on the writing front) but other things keep getting in the way. I have never really read self help books but having read the first chapter this one might just do the trick! Thank you! X

  5. I definitely want this book. I do love a self help book to get me motivated. I like the idea of Boxing day more than once a year.

  6. I’ve never read a self help book, I’ve bought a couple but they ended up going to the charity shop a couple of years later unread. This sounds really interesting, I like the idea of booking days in my diary so I think I might give it a go.

  7. If you had to pick one out of the Peter Jones and Paul McKenna books, which would it be? Or are they too different to say? If you can’t decide let’s go with which would you read first? 🙂

  8. I can’t resist leaving a comment any longer.

    Keris – thank you so much for the wonderful review. It really means a lot that you read the book in the first place, more so that you liked it and then wrote a review.

    To those who have said how interesting the book sounds – I hope that you enjoy it if you decide to buy a copy. Would love to hear about your post ‘How to’ adventures

Comments are closed.