What’s the definition of success?

At the end of last year, I wrote on Carless Whispers about this Margaret Thatcher quote: “A man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure.” Obviously I disagree because, you know, we haven’t got a car at the moment…

And then earlier this year, there was the whole Vanessa debacle which made me feel like a failure and then, oddly, made me realise I’m much more successful than I’d, um, realised.

And about five minutes ago, I read this, which blogger Shannon Eileen at Happiness Is… described as “the true definition of success”:

If you love your life, you’ve made it.

And I really do. It’s not perfect – of course it’s not – but I do love it. Until this morning, I hadn’t really thought that loving your life is the definition of success, but I think it’s as good a definition as any, don’t you?

{The photo of Joe is from yesterday. Wish I’d been able to get both boys peering over the fence, but Harry was being all teenagery – he claims he is a teenager – and wouldn’t go.}

6 thoughts on “What’s the definition of success?

  1. That is a perfect definition of success! I have felt for a long time that it is a subjective concept that is better measured in emotions than any other way.

  2. Seriously, yes! You can measure success by all kinds of externals, but if you do you’ll never measure up because someone else will always have more, do more, be more, blah blah. Not only does happiness mean your life is a success, you’re defining it on your own terms, which is all that really matters anyway.

Comments are closed.