If I could live in a book…

Day 2 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘A book you wish you could live in.’

Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City series springs to mind immediately mainly because I feel like I have lived in them and that the characters are my friends (honestly, when I read the two most recent books in the series I kept crying just because it was so lovely to spend time with them again).

I’ve wittered on about this so many times before, but I discovered these books at a really low time in my life and they (along with Barry Manilow albums – I really am a gay man trapped in a woman’s body) basically got me through it.

So I feel like I know the books, I know (and love) the characters, I know the setting (1970s San Francisco? Yeah, I think I could live there) and it wouldn’t be too much of a culture shock to suddenly find myself there…

If you could live in a book, what book would you choose?

3 thoughts on “If I could live in a book…

  1. I’d live in Susan Howatch’s Starbridge with all the raunchy goings on between various well-to-do ladies and their CofE clerics. and I’d drink Veuve Clicquot with Venetia and we’d be BFFs. Fab.

Comments are closed.