My favourite non-fiction book

Day 5 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite non-fiction book’.

I have written about this book so many times. I’ve bought it for friends. I’ve given my own copy away and bought a new one for myself. I’ve read it – I think – four times in less than four years. I read it again on holiday this summer. It helped me make the decision to have a second baby. Yes, it’s Waiting for Birdy by Catherine Newman.

It’s the sweetest, funniest, most life-affirming book. Every time I read it, I laugh out loud, I cry and I read bits out to David (probably the same bits each time, but it doesn’t matter cos it’s not like he listens when I read stuff out to him).

I emailed Catherine Newman to tell her how much I love the book and, you know, her and she sent me a lovely email back (and it didn’t even include the words ‘please never contact me again’).

I love it. Obv.

What’s your favourite non-fiction book? 

2 thoughts on “My favourite non-fiction book

  1. Did you notice when you linked through to this book that in the ‘Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought’ section are both your books? I love when things like that happen! Random I know, but thought I’d let you know 😉

Comments are closed.