Off into the world…

Right now, Joe is at preschool for the very first time.

I took him for a visit at the end of last term and stayed with him, but this morning was the first time we’d left him. And he was fine. More than fine. After about five minutes of him playing in the sandpit, I said, “We’re going to have to go soon, okay?” He turned and clutched my shoulders, saying “No!” but immediately turned back to the sandpit, as if he’d done it for my benefit, but he was actually totally fine. Joker. So then we kissed him goodbye and we left. And he didn’t even turn round.

It’s good that he’s so independent and everything, but would it kill him to at least pretend he’ll miss us?!

6 thoughts on “Off into the world…

  1. How on earth did this come round so soon? What a great photo. He’s paid you such a great compliment – you’ve given him the confidence, skills and desire to strike out on his own. No one told me how heart-breaking parenthood can be…

    1. I know, Wendy! David held up Joe’s pyjama bottoms last night, saying, “Do these look like the pyjamas of a boy big enough for preschool?!” And thank you. x

Comments are closed.