A book that blew me away

Day 8 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book that blew me away’.

Books blow me away all the time – that’s sort of what I love about books – but I chose The Hunger Games because it’s a book I really didn’t expect to be blown away by.

I’d heard lots of chat about it online and I think a couple of people had recommended it, but I didn’t fancy it at all. I’m not a big fan of dystopias in general and I knew The Hunger Games was pretty violent and I’m a total wuss about violence, so I still thought no. But then at my launch party for Della, lovely Brigid Coady (who I knew online, but hadn’t met previously) raved about it to me and I decided to give it a try and… it blew me away.

I’ve just reread it for the YA course I’ve been teaching and it blew me away again. I haven’t read the other two books in the series yet (worried they’ll be disappointing), but I definitely will at some point. And I really hope the film lives up to the book.

Have you read it? What did you think? What book blew you away? Is anyone ever going to answer any of these questions? I feel like the guy at the end of Soap… 

13 thoughts on “A book that blew me away

  1. The latest book to blow me away is A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I know it’s not a new book but I had put off reading it as I wasn’t sure I would like it but I read it in a day and was completely stunned. It was beautiful and tragic and I loved it and I didn’t want it to end but I needed to know what would happen.

  2. I read it last week. Devoured it. I’m a total wuss about violence too – I still haven’t seen Bambi because of the fire in the wood – but adored this book. It was thrilling. So perfectly paced. I loved Cinna and how unexpectedly nice he was. And somehow the killing managed to be gory and real and yet manageable for a wussy reader at the same time. Great choice, Keris! I’ll definitely be recommending it too (to the few people who haven’t read it already).

    1. I haven’t seen Bambi either… because the mother dies. Waah!

      The violence was only just manageable for me, Sophia. The bit with the wasps? Both times I happened to be reading that bit on the train and flailed about hooting and wincing and made a show of myself.

      1. I’ve no idea how I got through the bit with the wasps. Maybe it was because she was partly hallucinating? Maybe it was just so surreal by then. Wasps! Who’d have thought?

  3. I haven’t seen Bambi. Or the beginning of Dumbo. I fast forwarded the sad bit in The Lion King. All involving animals’ parents dying – there’s a theme.

  4. I want to be blown away! Must read this. (btdubs – the most shocking thing about Bambi’s mother for me was that she didn’t just die, she was shot by the hunter. The sound of that shot stayed with me long after I’d been led sobbing inconsolably from the cinema by my Mum. I never did see the end of that film, and I never want to either. Terrible terrible film to make ‘for children’.)

  5. I only read The Hunger Games recently and while it blew me away in terms of pace and gore I found the love story and characters a bit meh. Couldn’t put it down though, and I’ll keep an eye out for the next two books in second hand shops but won’t be rushing to buy them new. I have probably already bored you to tears with my profound LaurenOliverLove but Before I Fall and Delirium both made a more lasting impression.

    1. Delirium, really? I thought it was really quite dull – I think I only really enjoyed the last quarter, doubt I’ll bother with the next two. Before I Fall, of course, is amazing.

Comments are closed.