Books that made me cry

Day 11 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book that made me cry’. 

Rather than just one, I thought I’d go with a bunch of books that made me cry. Just a few that spring immediately to mind. There are lots more…

The World According to Garp by John Irving. If you’ve read this, you’ll probably know the bit I mean… Something happens and then the point of view shifts and so you don’t know the outcome. I couldn’t wait to find out – I flicked forward, learned the outcome and then cried and cried. Had to put the book down I was crying so much.

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I didn’t want to read this – it didn’t sound like my kind of thing at all, probably because I don’t actually like books that are marketed as “tearjerkers” – but I absolutely loved it. I finished it sitting in Starbucks on Deansgate, Manchester, before work and doing proper gulping sobs. Embarrassing.

Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes. Read it on a plane. Proper gulping sobs. Embarrassing.

Dear Zoe by Philip Beard. Also read this on a plane. Again, made a total show of myself. When will I learn?!

What books have made you cry? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? 

5 thoughts on “Books that made me cry

  1. Dear Zoe and My Sister’s Keeper made me weep and weep, too.

    Earlier this year I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, a novel about a boy whose Dad was killed in 9/11 and his grandad, who survived Dresden. It’s quirky and mostly understated, but knowing that people actually had those experiences makes it utterly heartbreaking. I could cry thinking about it. I read The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake a few weeks ago, and although not much really happens and it’s a all bit odd, there was a poignancy that made me shed a couple of tears at the end, and it really stayed with me. Oh, and I cried at Steve Martin’s autobiography, when his Dad was ill. And Half-Baked, by Alexa Stevenson, because part of it is devastating. But that’s it so far this year…

  2. Recently I wept at Alice Hoffman’s Blue Diary. And also another one of hers, The Story Sisters. I really believe in her characters and their stories are just so poignant. I did cry at Her Sister’s Keeper, too, I have to admit… Fortunately I was at home each time and not out in public so my street cred is still intact…! 🙂 xx

  3. i cried at the end of the His Dark Materials books. very sad.

    I find I cry a lot more at books the more I read and the older I get. I find this very embarrassing. Especially if I’m reading on public transport!

  4. I’ve also read My Sister’s Keeper. I remember finishing on my bed and just crying….and crying. When the film came out I got it on DVD and wasn’t so keen….especially as they just changed the ending completely!

    I’m going to put the others on my ‘to read’ list.

Comments are closed.