My favourite historical novel

Day 12 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite historical novel’. 

Rose Tremain’s Restoration was the first book that sprang to mind, but then I had a look at my shelves and decided on Lauren Belfer’s City of Light instead. Set at the turn of the 20th Century, it’s about hydro-electricity and politics and Niagara Falls, which, I grant you, doesn’t sound all that appealing, but it’s a mystery and a romance and a thriller and I adored it.

Over the past ten years or so I’ve checked every now and then to see if Belfer had written anything else, but no joy. And then I checked today for this post and found that she had a new novel out last year, called A Fierce Radiance. I LOVE the cover and it’s set in New York during World War II. Can’t wait to read it (although I’m going to have to wait cos I’m on a book buying ban).

