Books that make you laugh out loud

Day 13 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book that made you laugh out loud’.

Much with the books that made me cry, I can’t just choose one.

Susie Day’s The Big Woo! made me laugh a lot (on a train – people looked at me funny).

The first time I read Frank Skinner’s autobiography it made me cry laughing, but I reread it recently and I didn’t laugh out loud at all (but it did make me cry – both times).

The Best a Man Can Get by John O’Farrell made me weep with laughter as did Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About by Mil Millington.

Attack of the Theatre People by Marc Acito made me laugh a lot as did My Lucky Star by Joe Keenan and 50 Ways to Find a Lover by Lucy-Anne Holmes.

There are lots more, obviously, but they were the first that sprang to mind.

Which books have made you laugh out loud?Β 

14 thoughts on “Books that make you laugh out loud

  1. Notes from a Big Country by Bill Bryson. Lady sitting opposite me on the tube asked me to write the title down for her because she hadn’t giggled like that in years!

    1. Ooh yes! How could I forget Bill Bryson? I’ve laughed at all his books, but I think I actually laughed the most at Notes from a Big Country (was it the bit about the tax forms..?)

      1. Oh, I love his books. I think The Lost Continent made me laugh the most, mainly because for some reason the line “She was right. They *were* purdy.” cracked me up for about 10 minutes. Maybe just ‘cos I really loved the idea of travelling round the US (and still do). I love Big Country and Small Island a lot too, though. And it probably doesn’t sound like a barrell of laughs, but Three Men in a Boat is really funny, IMO.

  2. I remember getting very funny looks on a train to Birmingham for laughing out loud while reading Bridget Jones’ Diary. Such a funny book.

    1. Oh yes, I laughed a lot at Bridget Jones’s Diary too. In fact we used to pass the columns around the office and you’d hear people laughing at them as they went round.

  3. Diane, remembering the description at the beginning of Small Island of him walking down the hill, drunk, in a gale makes me laugh sitting here now. Also his description of him shoving food into his mouth “like logs into a sawmill.” Love.

    1. Hee! I loved the bit where his landlady says something about β€” oh, what does she call it, like an eiderdown type of thing? β€” and he’s looking all over thinking, ‘What the EFF is it?!”

  4. Notes from a Big Country for me too. H and I took it in turns to read a chapter whilst we were in Sorrento, neither of us could wait for the other to finish it. Sarah and I had to get off a tube though when we were reading the Viz book of Top Tips that you bought us. I though I was going to wet myself!

  5. I think I may need to read some of these! I could do with a giggle. I have read How I Paid for College by Mark Acito and that was hilarious! I didn’t know he had another book too!

Comments are closed.