A favourite 19th Century novel

Day 14 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite 19th Century novel’.

Just the words ‘a favourite 19th Century novel’ strike fear into my heart. I was asked this very question in my university interview and my brain went into immediate meltdown, shouting “Austen? Brontes? Austen’s not 19th Century you idiot! What if he asks which Bronte? Which Bronte wrote which book?! Dickens! Say Dickens!”

As it turns out the answer is none of the above, it’s actually The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins. Atmospheric, gripping, exciting. I read it at university and absolutely loved it.

What’s your favourite 19th Century novel?

4 thoughts on “A favourite 19th Century novel

    1. I enjoyed some of them at uni, Susie – Great Expectations, Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, but didn’t get very far with Bleak House and hated Barnaby Rudge. Have had not a single urge to read any more since graduating.

      1. Bleak Arse was my university nemesis. Stylistically I think Dickens is amazing – for about three chapters, and then I die of annoyance at the longwindedness and the random cliffhangers and the ‘colourful’ characters called Mr Terriblynice who have bog all to do with the story. I’m not really a Victorian novel kind of girl.

Comments are closed.