Which book character is most like you?

Day 20 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book with a character most like me’.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book and thought the character was just like me. I love it when I get that “I do that too!” feeling from a book – Bridget Jones’s Diary was brilliant for that – and I know I used to think I was quite like Darrell from Malory Towers, but beyond that I’m not really sure.

I do, however, remember a friend telling me that she read Human Croquet by Kate Atkinson and it sounded just like me. I don’t think it was that the character was like me, I think she thought it sounded like I’d written it. I’m assuming that’s an enormous compliment since it’s, you know, Kate Atkinson, but I still haven’t been able to bring myself to read it.

11 thoughts on “Which book character is most like you?

  1. I like Erin from the Sky Horses books, she’s ALOT like me. =) Fast-thinking and jumps to the easyist thing that jumps into her head, plus, she’s kind to the animals she meets. ❤

  2. I re-read Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld because you said this:

    The most amazing thing to me was how much of it sounded like me. I’m 39, I know that many of the fears and insecurities you have as a teenager aren’t, as you think at the time, exclusive to you, but SO MUCH of it sounded like me that it actually freaked me out a bit. I felt like Sittenfeld had been spying on me.

    1. Alison, has anyone ever told you you’re a bit weird?

      Yes, you’re right, I’d completely forgotten that. But I know I’m not alone in thinking that about Prep.

      1. Ha! That was the short version, in the long version I said something about how my friends IRL tell me off when I quote them back at them. Weird, yes. Annoying, also.

        I have been thinking who am I most like and I am going for Lucy in Charlie Brown.

  3. That’s an interesting question because it forces you to address your personality which isn’t something I’m keen to do. I’d rather not face facts! And people who know me would probably have a totally different opinion as to what I’m like. As nobody’s ever been brave enough to tell me the truth and I haven’t listened through any keyholes, I’m not really sure who the hell I am. One re-occuring description of me though that regularly crops up is CUCKOO. But you see to me I’m completely normal. I’ve never met anyone like me. And I do ramble, as you can see! Physically Pippi Longstocking. Now that you’ve forced me to look deep into my inner soul I’m going for George (ina) from The Famous Five.

      1. Hi Keris, OMG you don’t know what you’ve missed out on not reading about sticky buns and ginger beer and Uncle Quentin and Aunt Fanny and strange bumps in the night and mysterious men in boats and stolen loot if my brain serves me right!

        Hey, whaddayouknow – I’m cool! (not sure how to do one of those little yellow faces but if I did it would have a wry smile). At least I’m not a wimp like Ann. The baby. God she used to annoy me.

        TTFN, Wendy (aka Wendyfreckles)

  4. I can think of plenty of impressive heroines who I would like to be but in reality I can’t think of any characters who remind me of me. Does that mean that there are very few normal, average characters out there? Mum always used to say that the character played by Wendy Craig in Butterflies [is this before your time?] reminded her of me. I think it had something to do with the cooking skills!

  5. Haha! Wendy, I didn’t realise it was you – totally should have guessed. I love Enid Blyton, but for some reason didn’t like the Famous Five books. I was all about the Secret Seven. 🙂

    1. Ha! The freckles gave me away then. Fair enough. You say tomato…. You’re a SS girl, I’m an FF; you were a Malory Towers girl – I desperately wanted to go to St Clare’s! This is taking me WAY back down memory lane. TTFN

Comments are closed.