Is there a book you’re embarrassed to like?

Day 21 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book I am embarrassed to say I like’.

I’m not sure I’m embarrassed to say I like any books. When I did my English degree, we did a Popular Fiction module (which is where I also read Desperation by Stephen King). We had to read two Mills & Boon books and I dreaded it, but I actually quite enjoyed them.

But when I read them on the train to and from uni, I did try to read them with an air of ‘don’t judge me, I’m reading them for my degree!’ Which is quite tricky to pull off, I’m sure you’ll imagine.

How about you?

5 thoughts on “Is there a book you’re embarrassed to like?

  1. Sometimes doing a degree in English and Philosophy makes me ashamed to tell people I love Harry Potter…. That’s funny about the Mills and Boon. There was a cleaning lady at my boyfriend’s work who constantly had a Mills and Boon in the front pocket of her overalls 🙂

    1. Do you know Cait Lomas? She’s @CaitLomas on Twitter. I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure she’s also doing (or may have just finished) and English and Philosophy degree and she loves Harry Potter. We talked about a “The Philosophy of Harry Potter” book when I met her.

Comments are closed.