What’s your most unputdownable book?

Day 24 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘an unputdownable book’.

A few books I’ve already mentioned would fit into this category: The Hunger Games, Misery, The Woman in White, the Tales of the City books…

I tried to think of books I’d read in one sitting, but the only ones I could think of were in exceptional circumstances – Misery (again) on a very long coach journey from London to Liverpool, Bread Alone by Judi Hendricks when I had glandular fever and couldn’t get up off the sofa, so then I searched Trashionista to see if there were any books I’d reviewed there and described as “unputdownable”. And there was.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I took it to Paris with me when me and David went to see the final stage of the Tour de France. I remember reading it at the airport. I remember reading it in the hotel room (while David watched an extremely weird French film and tried to work out what on earth was going on without the benefit of subtitles). I remember reading it leaning against a lamppost while David went to get some cash. And I remember reading it sitting on the ground on the Champs Elysee, waiting for the cyclists to arrive. So I think that fits the bill.

(I can also remember arranging to meet a friend in The Moon Under Water in Manchester at 7pm and standing round the corner, leaning against the wall and reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire until exactly 6.59.)

How about you?

5 thoughts on “What’s your most unputdownable book?

  1. I read Bread Alone when I was ill, too. (Stomach upset, I think). It was very comforting. I can’t remember which books I’ve found unputdownable, though I’m sure there have been lots. *racks brain* Ooh! You know what? We Need To Talk About Kevin was definitely one. And recently, I loved When You Reach Me.

    Ps: I’m sure you noticed that in the book reviews on Trashi where you call books “unputdownable”, you always had a little rant about how it’s just not literally true 😉

  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns fits the bill for me. I read it in one day while drying my hair, making breakfast, sorting packed lunches, eating my lunch, making dinner etc. I love books like that! Oh and Jessie and Della before that of course! 🙂

Comments are closed.