Do you read science fiction?

Day 26 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite science fiction book’.

Oh dear. Now we’re struggling. I can’t think that I’ve read a science fiction book for years. I read Virtual Light by William Gibson as part of the Popular Fiction module at uni (the one I keep going on about) and really enjoyed that. And I read Brave New World at uni too and thought that was brilliant, but SF isn’t something I’d generally just pick up.

Oddly enough, one of the very few novels I can remember getting from the library as a child – and I read a LOT of library books – is Science Fiction: The Keeper of the Isis Light by Monica Hughes. Looking it up now, it seems quite familiar and it also sounds really interesting, I think maybe I should reread it. Anyone read it?

(Not SF, but one of the other library books I remember is The Summer-House Loon by Anne Fine. Pretty sure I read that one a few times.)

