What’s your best-kept book secret?

Day 27 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book I love that deserves to be better known’.

Now you’re going to mock, but it’s Feel by Chris Heath. I reviewed it for Trashionista and this is what I said (yes, I know I’m lazy):

A few years ago I read Literally, a biography of The Pet Shop Boys by Chris Heath. It was utterly compelling, brilliantly written and totally transporting. And so is his biography of Robbie Williams.

I was a bit worried it wouldn’t meet the high standard set by Literally, but Feel is everything I expected and more. It’s not just a biography of a star, it’s a meditation on – and expose of – celebrity and modern culture. And it’s really very funny.

Chris Heath got to know Robbie extremely well and has captured brilliantly the contradictions that, in my opinion, make Robbie such a fascinating character. For example, if Robbie values his privacy as highly as he claims, why did he agree to a journalist spending a year with him and writing a book which includes intensely private moments and emotions? You don’t get any answers (well, not many), just more questions about why anyone would choose to be famous in this age of total celebrity obsession.

Feel is a brilliantly written, thought-provoking, gripping, funny book. Whether you love, like, hate, or are indifferent to Robbie Williams, I highly recommend you read it.

2 thoughts on “What’s your best-kept book secret?

  1. I have to agree. I am not a Robbie Williams fan by any means so I thought I’d never read this, but it’s just a fun, well-written insight into what it means to be a pop star (even if that star is Robbie Williams). I enjoyed it a lot.

Comments are closed.