What’s your favourite book with animals in? (???)

Day 29 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite book with animals in’.

One of my first favourite books featured animals – My Friend Flicka by Mary O’Hara. It obviously has a fancy new cover, but this is the one I remember. I remember standing in my nan and grandad’s kitchen (which they, for some unknown reason, called the “back kitchen” even though there wasn’t a “front kitchen”) reading it. I remember reading Thunderhead too and then going on to read a series of pony trekking books. This may also have been the time I had my imaginary horse… What?

One of my more recent favourite books – or favourite series, actually – with animals in is the Hermux Tantamoq series by Michael Hoeye, starting with Time Stops for No Mouse. These are anthropomorphic animals – Hermux’s love Linka Perflinger is an aviatrix – and there’s a definite touch of The Rescuers about the series, but they’re really lovely, sweet and funny books. And I could be wrong, but they may also fit as a best-kept book secret.

7 thoughts on “What’s your favourite book with animals in? (???)

  1. I loved ‘Black Beauty’ (and wept buckets of tears over it) and also a very old book called ‘Beautiful Joe’ about a dog. Another favourite was ‘Casey’ by Joyce Stranger about a cat. As you can see I spread my affections across many animal types! I always read books about animals (and then there was Timmy in the Famous Five books). I’m not sure whether you’d call them ‘animals’ or not but some of the ‘daemons’ in Philip Pullman’s ‘His Dark Materials’ trilogy are wonderfully characterised – the final scenes with Scoresby & Hester (a ‘hare’) are totally heartbreaking.

  2. The Hundred and One Dalmations, by Dodie Smith. Pffft to the rubbishy films (all of them): this is proper brilliant. (Haven’t read it in years, mind – but it’s Dodie. We trust Dodie.)

  3. OMG that photo took me right back! Thanks Keris. For me, little miss pony girl, it just has to be all of the horsey books I read as a child by said author and Josephine or Christine Pullein-Thomson(?) Pullein something.

Comments are closed.