Name and (maybe) shame your unread books

Day 32 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book that has been on my shelf unread for more than 5 years’.

I’ve been quite good at culling my book shelves over the past couple of years so I don’t have any at the moment, but the one that guiltily pops into mind is Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres.

I was so excited to read it – since I not only loved Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, but all de Bernieres’ other books as well – that I bought it from one of those postal book club things (like Britannia Music), probably paying well over the odds for it in all the monthly selections I never got round to refusing or returning.

It was still sitting on my shelf when the paperback came out and I think we even moved house and I still hadn’t read it. I felt guilty whenever I saw it and so I gave it to the charity shop, still unread.

Anyone read it? Should I have read it? (Don’t worry, I won’t buy another copy – I’ll get it from the library. Probably.)

7 thoughts on “Name and (maybe) shame your unread books

  1. Oh, I’m preparing for the onslaught of disbelief and ridicule now but… Pride and Prejudice. In my defence I’ve started it lots and lots of times, but never got passed about the first 50 pages. Just can’t do Austen – the only one I’ve ever finished is Persuasion.

    I’m sure there are others, but that’s definitely the most shaming.

  2. Erm, I think this one may be one of my unreads, too… I recently boxed up some books (okay, okay, there were nine IKEA plastic tubs full of them) and was a bit taken aback at how many unreads there were among them. I need to do a cull but I’m sure I’d hear the books screaming, so instead I’ve resolved to (b) stop buying books for a while and (c) use my library more.

  3. I couldn’t get beyond chapter one of The Slap. Great idea. Dreadful book. Also The Leopard by Jo Nesbo. I don’t want that kind of nastiness in my head.

    Nobody I know has managed to finish The Finkler Question.

    1. Some of my friends have adored The Slap, others absolutely loathed it. I’m not going to bother trying.

      I was put off reading The Finkler Question when it won The Booker. That’s probably the wrong response…

Comments are closed.