A book I wish I had written

Day 34 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a book I wish I had written’.

Huh. Tricky. I’ve read so many gorgeous books. I’ve read books that I’ve actually hugged after turning the last page. There are books that I read over and over and know I’ll keep reading them over and over for years to come. There are books I shared with my mum and books I share with my children. I don’t know if I’ve ever thought “I wish I’d written that.” Or at least, I can’t remember.

The one that keeps popping into my head is Hippos Go Berserk by Sandra Boynton, but that may just mean I need more tea…

4 thoughts on “A book I wish I had written

  1. Harry Potter. Or is that predictable?! I admire its depth and complexity and the pure escapist magic. Although I think the series was greatly helped by amazing, blow-me-away cinematography and wonderful music, I would love to experience a day in the mind of JKR.

    1. I thought of HP, Wendy, but I know I never could have written it in a million years, so I discounted it. (I still haven’t seen any of the films.)

      1. ooh hell me neither! Can’t believe you’ve not seen the films. Pure magic. I saw them as completely different to the books. Just you sit down and watch them with your boys. My naughty 3yo loves Harry Pottem (as she calls him). We haven’t the heart to correct her.

  2. I read Ralph’s Party by Lisa Jewell and spent the next few weeks sitting at my desk feeling sorry for myself and thinking ‘I wish I’d written that’. Writing a great debut novel and transforming my life had never felt so achievable. Lisa was writing about people like me and my friends, she had written the kind of book I thought perhaps I could write if only I could get out from behind my desk and get motivated. Of course Lisa made it seem effortless and I know it wasn’t, it never is, and the book I did eventually write is nothing like Ralph’s Party. I don’t think this sentiment is exactly what the question was driving at but it is the answer that popped into my mind.

Comments are closed.