A favourite book recommended by another book blogger

Day 36 of the 40 day book challenge is ‘a favourite book recommended by another book blogger’.

Ah, I’m glad about this one, since I’ve been feeling guilty for not writing about Water for Elephants, which I was sent as part of my friend Cara’s online reading group, Love A Book.

I’d been meaning to read Water for Elephants for years, since I interviewed the author, Sara Gruen, for Trashionista (her guest blog on avoiding writing is good too). Plus Gruen wrote the book for NaNoWriMo and I love NaNo authors. I’d put it off for a while because I had my own circus book brewing in my head (it’s still brewing), but when Cara offered to send me a copy I couldn’t resist.

I don’t want to say too much about it because part of the enjoyment for me was really not knowing much of the story. I knew there was a love affair (and if I hadn’t known that, the posters for the film would have made it quite clear) and that there was an elephant (who I got retweeted by on Twitter yesterday – weird world).

I found the book completely engrossing. I loved pretty much everything about it. I was thinking about it yesterday when Harry and I went to the circus for the first time (no animals anymore, thank goodness) and so much of it has stayed with me. You really should read it. But should I watch the film? I can’t decide.

Thanks so much to Cara for sending it to me. Sorry it’s taken me so long to write about it!

4 thoughts on “A favourite book recommended by another book blogger

  1. I loved this, too! I read it after being reminded about it on Joshilyn Jackson’s blog (she is friends with Gruen, I think). It was one of those ‘can’t stop reading until I’ve finished’ books.

  2. Ooh, it’s me! How lovely! I came over all hot & happy reading this. So glad you liked it. We can move on from Stuffed now ;0)

Comments are closed.