An author crush

Day 38 of the 40 Day Book Challenge is ‘an author crush.’

When I saw today’s topic I knew straight away who I had to write about. William Fiennes.

Years ago, when I worked at Waterstone’s, we all tootled along to a launch event for Picador. I think it was at The Lowry Hotel (and I think it was there because David came to pick me up and actually went to The Lowry Theatre… since I’d just told him “The Lowry”) (and, yes, I was married – this is a platonic crush) (sort of).

Jackie Kay was there. And Justine Picardie. And William Fiennes. He read from his book The Snow Geese and he was funny and charming. After the readings there was mingling. I tried to mingle with Jackie Kay, but I couldn’t think of anything non-stupid to say and she looked at me like I was a complete idiot (which was fair enough, under the circumstances).

And then I got talking to William Fiennes. And he was lovely. I can’t remember what we talked about (there was free wine…), but I do remember that when I stumbled back to our table, my colleagues all wolf-whistled and said “Keris and William kissing in a tree…”

(Please note that there was no kissing, in a tree or otherwise. My colleagues were even drunker than I was.) (Although if this was the event at The Lowry, David had to pull over for me to be sick on the way home, so that may not actually be true.)

3 thoughts on “An author crush

    1. Is that because you’ve found the rest really boring or because this one contains drunkenness and inappropriate behaviour? Or both?

Comments are closed.