A book I expected to hate but loved

Day 39 of the 40 Day Book Challenge is ‘a book I expected to hate but loved.’

Confused. Why would I start reading a book I expected to hate? Apart from at uni, but even then, I didn’t expect to hate American Psycho

So instead – and with apologies to Tom Clempson who complained that I keep cheating – I’m going to pick a book I never would have chosen to read, but ended up loving.

David was reading this on holiday and I picked it up because I liked the cover. It doesn’t look like much here, but it’s really unusual and smart, and only slightly spoiled by the idiotic sticker. I mean, really.

Anyway, Mark Oliver Everett is the singer in Eels and this is his memoir of, well… “How does one young man survive the deaths of his entire family and manage to make something worthwhile of his life?”

Yeah. I know, it doesn’t sound like a must read, does it? But David started reading bits out to me and it sounded interesting, so I picked it up and ended up really loving it. It is sad, of course it is, but it’s also uplifting, hopeful, inspiring and funny. Really. And you don’t have to be an Eels fan to read it. I only know one song (Novocaine for the Soul) but the book made me want to hear more.

