A favourite book about a celebration

Day 40 of the 40 Day Book Challenge is ‘a favourite book about a celebration.’

Okay, I guess I’m cheating again (sorry, Tom) because this book isn’t about a specific celebration, but a) I can’t think of a book that is, apart from books based around weddings and I don’t think I’ve got a favourite one of those, and b) this book is about food as celebration… and more.

‘We were a restaurant family, four generations in a six-block radius. When you opened our fridge, food fell on your feet.’

It’s a memoir of a New York restaurant family, which obviously encompasses New York, the restaurant, family and food. Lots and lots of food. Volk writes about food brilliantly and I read this book with my mouth watering and vowed to hunt down some of the places she mentions and try the meals she eats.

It’s also a very nostalgic book. It made me want to live in New York, but in the 1950s and ’60s. It’s warm and charming and completely wonderful. I actually didn’t read it at first, I listened to it on audiobook, which I would HIGHLY recommend. After I’d listened to it, I bought it in book form, primarily because I wanted to see the photographs of Volk’s family.

One of my all-time faves, so a fitting end to this 40 Day Challenge! I’ve really enjoyed it. Hope you haven’t been too bored. Next: NaNoWriMo!

One thought on “A favourite book about a celebration

Comments are closed.