LA Day 3: Keep watching the skies!

 

When I woke up on Sunday morning, I could see bright blue sky and pink clouds out of my window. I hopped out of bed and saw that the moon was still out too – big and white and bright. I got back in to bed, Skyped with my family, ate Toblerone and tried not to cry at how fabulous it all was.

Because the sun was shining, Stella and I went for another wander around the canals. So gorgeous.

 

We walked along Abbot Kinney, hoping to find a nice cafe for breakfast, but there didn’t seem to be any open, so we kept going and ended up back at the Sidewalk Cafe on the Boardwalk. Which turned out to be an excellent decision. We had huevos rancheros and listened to a man playing amazing guitar. It was one of those completely perfect moments. Really.

I hadn’t been able to decide whether to go to Griffith Observatory or not, but I decided I’d regret it if we didn’t and so off we drove. Well, Stella drove and I wittered on and took photos out of the window.

 

Griffith Observatory turned out to be an excellent plan – it was so beautiful.

We wandered around taking dozens of photos and then went to see the Centred in the Universe show in the Planetarium, which was fantastic. (You know that line in Spinal Tap? “Puts things into perspective…” “Too much fucking perspective.” That.) Plus there was an excellent view of the Hollywood sign and this time the sun was shining.

On the way back to Venice, we stopped off at Venice High School. RYDELL HIGH!!!! I still haven’t quite got my head around the fact that we went there and I’m scared to watch Grease again in case I cry all the way through. Rydell High!!!! (I subsequently found out that the Summer Lovin’ bleachers are actually round the back of the school. If we’d known that and seen them I think my head would’ve exploded.)

Still reeling, we staggered down to the beach to watch the sunset and think about going home. Or, as my brain insisted on putting it: The Sun Goes Down On Our Californian Adventure.

We’d planned to go to Washington Boulevard for dinner, but ended up at the Sidewalk Cafe – our local – again. I had a Paul Auster New York Steak and a couple of margaritas. It was bliss.

And then, from 4.30 the following morning, there was about 36 hours of this…

And a little bit of this…

Bye, LA. You were freakin’ awesome.

And so were you, Stella. Thanks so much for coming with me. xxx

10 thoughts on “LA Day 3: Keep watching the skies!

  1. So happy you had a great trip! And I know exactly what you mean about the perfect moment at the Sidewalk–I had one, too, right on sunset. Love it there.

  2. Have finally all caught up with your LA posts, it sounds like such a brilliant trip. I feel rather gormless for not having realised that Venice was so-called because of the canals — or even that there were canals… Clearly, I need to go back.

  3. Keris, you hit all the hot spots! So glad you loved it so much! Next time, I’ll show you my “hidden Hollywood” that only the locals know about. And the Griffith Onservatory is one of my favorite places. Best views of the city. That’s where they filmed Rebel Without A Cause. And my best friend works at Fox Studios, so I can probably get you in for free! At least for lunch on the lot, which is always fun. Come back & see us again soon!

    1. Yes, I think we did pretty well for just three days, eh? Ooh, lunch on the lot sounds excellent! I’ll definitely let you know next time – thanks!

  4. Sooo cool reading about your time in L.A… it sounded like so much fun! I can’t believe you actually saw Rydell high! If I ever go there with Harriet (my best friend) then we’ll probably burst out into song! I know how you feel when you say you might cry all the way through Grease now that you’ve seen Rydell High… I went to the set of ‘Harry Potter’ for my birthday this year and I felt like crying whilst I was there! I watched all the films back to back after that and my eyes were so full of tears I couldn’t see! 🙂

Comments are closed.